Hampshire Deaths - What else you can try
This page will give you additional guidance and resources to find death information for your ancestor. Use this page after first completing the death section of the Hampshire Guided Research page.
Additional Online Resources
Additional Databases and Online Resources
- 1538-1917: Hampshire, Portsmouth Burials at FindMyPast ($)
- 1538-1800s: Parish Records at TheGenealogist ($)
- 1837-1957: Search the GRO historical birth and death indexes at General Register Office (free to search, login required) -- death index lists age at death
- 1840-2014: United Kingdom, Select Burial and Cremation Index, 1840-2014 at MyHeritage ($)
- 1900-2019: United Kingdom, Index of Burials, 1900-2019 at MyHeritage ($)
- 2007-2017: United Kingdom Deaths 2007-2017 at FindMyPast($)
Additional Records with Death Information
Substitute records can contain information about more than one event, and are used when records for an event are not available. Because the substitute records may not be created at the time of the event, it may contain incorrect information. Search for as many substitute records as possible to corroborate information found in substitute records to help improve accuracy.
|Use these substitute records to locate death information about your ancestor:|
|Why to search the records|
|Starting in 1837, death registration lists the deceased's death date and place, gender, age, and their occupation (or parent's name if a child).|
|Wills and probate list death date and place.|
|Monumental or tombstone inscriptions and records created when a deceased individual was interred in a cemetery.|
|May contain death notices and obituaries.|
|Military records, after 1707, may include any death information for servicemen who died in service.|
|Society of Friends (Quakers) and other nonconformist churches, such as the Presbyterian Church, also have death and burial parish registers.|
Finding Town of Origin
Knowing an ancestor’s hometown can be important to locate more records. If a person immigrated to the United States, try Finding Town of Origin to find the ancestor’s hometown.
Virtual Genealogy Consultations
Schedule a free online consultation with a research specialist:
Ask the Community
Select a community research group where you can ask questions and receive free genealogy help.
Tips for finding deaths
Successfully finding death records in online databases depends on a few key points. Try the following search suggestions:
- Spelling variations. Your ancestor's name may be misspelled. Search with spelling variations for the first and last name of your ancestor.
- Search given name. Search by given name (leave out the last name) with the approximate date of birth or death.
- Add information. For common names, add more information to narrow the search such as approximate birth date or parent's names if known.
- Date range. Expand the date range of the search by 5 years.
- Search county. Search using the county name only instead of by parish.
Why the Record may not Exist
Known Record Gaps
Mandatory death registration started in 1837. However, universal compliance did not occur until 1874. Before 1837, deaths and burials can be found in church records (mainly the Church of England). Although the oldest burial records date to 1538, many parish churches did not start recording burials until the 1600s.
Some church records may have been lost, destroyed, or damaged (especially in the 1500s and early 1600s). More specific information is not known. Civil registration records are generally complete.