To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Guernsey, Channel Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Guernsey)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guernsey Wiki Topics
Flag of guernsey.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Guernsey Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Guernsey ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Country Information[edit | edit source]

The Bailiwick of Guernsey (Norman: Bailliage de Guernesey) is a British Crown Dependency off the coast of Normandy, France in the Channel Islands. The islands were formerly under the control of Brittany and, later, Normandy and France. The Bailiwick of Guernsey was occupied by German troops during World War II. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Guernsey Research

Links to articles on getting started with Guernsey research.

Guernsey Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Guernsey research.

Guernsey, Channel Islands Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guernsey.

Guernsey parishes.png

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guernsey. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

As well as the island of Guernsey itself, the Bailiwick includes the islands of Alderney, Sark, Herm, Jethou, Brecqhou, Burhou, Lihou and other islets.

The ten parishes of Guernsey are:

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Guernsey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guernsey, accessed 29 April 2016.