Gudme Parish, Svendborg, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Svendborg County
Gudme


History

Until 1 January 2007 Gudme municipality was a municipality in Funen County in central Denmark and the municipality's main city and site of its municipal council was Gudme.
The municipality was formed in 1970 from the following parishes, Brudager, Gudbjerg, Gudme, Hesselager, Oure and Vejstrup.
Gudme municipality ceased to exist as the result of The Municipality Reform of 2007 when it was merged with Svendborg and Egebjerg municipalities to form the new Svendborg municipality. The new municipality belongs to Region of Southern Denmark.
[1]

Gudme Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Fyens Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Gudme-Brudager Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Nyborg
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Svendborg
Herred (district) Gudme
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 72
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 72
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 3/51
Gods (estate) Rygård gods; Lykkesholm gods; Bjørnemose gods; Glorup gods; Anhof gods; Broholm gods; Hesselagergård gods; Mægård gods


Place Names

Broholm, Broholm Mølle, Broholms Kohave,

Egsmose, Egemosegaard,

Galdbjerg, Galdbjerg Kohave, Grydager, Gudme, Gudme Kohave, Gudme Sø,

Husmandsalle,

Kohave Huse,

Langelændegaard,

Skelmose, Skovbakker, Stubbeshoved,

Tangeaa, Tommered

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Svendborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Svendborg" and then select your parish.


References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/> Apr 2012


- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4d ed. Vol. 4, Maribo, Odense, og Svenborg Amt. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1923.