To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Guatemala Department, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guatemala Wiki Topics
Flag of Guatemala.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Guatemala Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Guatemala is Dwsmith2

Guide to Department of Guatemala ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

Department of Guatemala

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

  • In 1638, the Dominicans separated their great doctrines -which brought them considerable income- in groups centered on their six convents and doctrines, located in what later became the Departments of Guatemala and Sacatepéquez, although they remained in the jurisdiction of the convent of the city of Santiago de los Caballeros de Guatemala.
  • The Department of Guatemala /Escuintla, whose head was the Nueva Guatemala de la Asunción, was one of the seven original departments.
  • The creation of the state of Los Altos, an ephemeral independent republic, was authorized on December 25, 1838 by the Congress of the Federal Republic of Central America. The Department of Guatemala was part of the lands that were called Los Altos.
  • On April 23, 1925, Fraijanes departed from the Department of Amatitlán, which was part of the jurisdiction of the Department of Guatemala.
  • The Department of Guatemala has a population of approximately 2,542,000 people. [1]

Municipalities[edit | edit source]

San Juan SacatepéquezSan RaymundoChuarranchoChinautlaSan Pedro AyampucSan José del GolfoSan Pedro SacatepéquezMixcoCiudad de GuatemalaPalenciaVilla NuevaSan Miguel PetapaSan José PinulaVilla CanalesAmatitlánFraijanesSanta Catarina PinulaGuatemala Department Map.png

Civil Registration and Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most of the research you will do will be in these records.


Additional online records may be listed in the Family History Library Catalog for places within Guatemala, Guatemala.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

In addition, this census record might help you.

A wiki article describing this collection found at:

Reading the Records[edit | edit source]

  • Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:





Building a Family Record with a Search Strategy[edit | edit source]

Many articles on strategy are available on the Wiki, but here is a simple set of steps to guide you

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth/baptism/christening record, then search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents, and even the names of their parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Guatemala (departamento)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guatemala_(departamento). Visited 16 July 2017.