Guadeloupe, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Guadeloupe Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search
Guadeloupe Wiki Topics
Flag of Guadeloupe (local).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Guadeloupe Background
Local Research Resources
Caribbean
Guadeloupe
Guide to Guadeloupe ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Guadeloupe is an insular region of France in the Caribbean Sea whose nearest neighbors are Montserrat, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Martinique. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Guadeloupe Research

Links to articles on getting started with Guadeloupe research.

Guadeloupe Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Guadeloupe research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Guadeloupe, France Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guadeloupe. Arrondissements:

Map-guadeloupe.jpg

Arrondissements

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guadeloupe. Arrondissements:

  • Basse-Terre
  • Pointe-à-Pitre

Online Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.

Writing for Records

Online records tend to cover only the time before 100 years, due to privacy laws. You can write to civil registration offices and local churches who might honor requests for more recent records of close family members for the purpose of genealogy.

For a civil registration office, address your request to:

Monsieur l'officier de l'état-civil
Mairie de (Town)
(Postal code) (Town)

For a parish church:

Monsieur le Curé
(Church --see The Catholic Directory for church name and address)
(Town) (Postal Code) France

For other addresses and for help writing your request in French, use French Letter Writing Guide.

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.

There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:

These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:

Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual. Much more is covered, but these first four lessons are especially useful.

Some Catholic Church records will be written in Latin:

Each Department of France has archives that provide digitized images of these records.
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Guadeloupe, where you will find these records.
National Overseas Archives, Guadeloupe

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, “Guadeloupe,” in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guadeloupe, accessed 29 April 2016.