Grove, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Grove, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wantage|
|Parish registers: 1832|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1851|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
GROVE (St. James), a district chapelry, in the parish, union, and hundred of Wantage, county of Berks, 1½ mile (N. by E.) from Wantage.  It is located next to the parishes of Wantage, West Hanney, and East Challow. Records for this chapelry will mainly be found in Wantage, but may also be found in these other parishes.
Grove is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1835 from chapelry in Wantage Ancient Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Grove parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|Grove Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Particular Baptist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Grove in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 27 March 2013.