Grosmont, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Grosmont, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Whitby|
|Parish registers: 1850|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1850|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Grosmont is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1850 from Lythe Ancient Parish.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Grosmont like this:
GROSMONT, or GROMOND, a hamlet in Lythe parish, and a chapelry in Lythe, Pickering, and Whitby parishes, N. R. Yorkshire. The hamlet lies on the river Esk, and in the Malton and Whitby railway, 1½ mile SE of Egton, and 6¼ SW by W of Whitby; and has a station on the railway, and a post office ‡ under York. A priory was founded here, in the time of King John; and was given, at the dissolution, to Edward Wright, Esq.; but no remains of it, of any mark, now exist. The chapelry was constituted in 1852. Rated property, £3, 578. Pop., 841. Houses, 168. Pop. of the Lythe portion, 245; of the Whitby portion, 397. The property is divided among a few. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of York. Value, £300. * Patron, the Archbishop of York. The church was built in 1850.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Grosmont exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|GROSMONT CHAPELRY (1850) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lythe to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LYTHE PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.