Grindsted Parish, Ribe, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ribe County
Grindsted


History

Until 1 January 2007, Grindsted municipality was a municipality in Ribe County on the Jutland Peninsula in south-west Denmark. The site of its municipal council was the town of Grindsted and the municipality's motto was "Grindsted - Vi har det hele" which means "Grindsted - We have it all".
The municipality ceased to exist as the result of The Municipality Reform of 2007. It was merged into the existing Billund municipality.
[1]

Grindsted Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Ribe Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Grindsted Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Koldinghus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ribe
Herred (district) Slavs
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 54-55
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 67-68
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 4/70-71
Gods (estate) Jerlev herreds provsti; Slavs herreds provsti; Tørrild herreds provsti; Engelsholm gods


Place Names

Aaglimt,

Dal, Dalshuse, Dyvelsrække,

Eg, Eg Plantage, Engmose Bæk,

Frodeslund Plantage, Fugdal,

Grindsted, Grindsted Mark, Grindsted Plantage,

Hinnum, Horsbøl,

Jerrig,

Kærbøl,

Lamborg, Loft, Lykkesknude,

Modvig, Morsbøl, Morsbøl Bæk, Morsbøl Plantage,

Nollund, Nollund Hede, Nollund Klostergaard, Nørre Urup,

Plagborg,

Simmelbæk, Simmelgårde, Sortebjerge, Sønderby, Sønderbymark, Sønderby Mose, Sønderkær Bæk,

Trekroner, Tudsborg, Tusborg,

Urup, Urup Kirke, Utoft, Utoft Plantage,

Vadbol, Vadbøl, Vesterbæk,


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
Additionally the following Grindsted parish records are online and available for free at http://www.horsboel.dk:
Christenings, 1693-1814 Marriages, 1693-1814 Burials, 1693-1814 Introductions,1693-1814
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Ribe Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Ribe" and then select your parish.

References

Krabsens Stednavnebase (http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/) J.P. Trap, Danmark, Femte Udgave 1965 Ribe Amt.