Grindleton, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Grindleton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Grindleton, Yorkshire
St Ambrose's Church, Grindleton.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Clitheroe
Registration District Clitheroe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1744
Bishop's Transcripts: 1744
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Grindleton St Ambrose was an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1741 from chapelry in Mitton Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Lower Grindleton, Sawley, Upper Grindleton, Sawley with Tosside, and Sawley near Clitheroe.

A Domesday manor until the late twelfth century, Grindleton formed part of the Manor and Liberty of Slaidburn from that time. In turn, Slaidburn was part of the ancient Lordship of Bowland which comprised a Royal Forest and a Liberty of ten manors spanning eight townships and four parishes and covered an area of almost 300 square miles (780 km2) on the historic borders of Lancashire and Yorkshire. The manors within the Liberty were Slaidburn (Newton-in-Bowland, West Bradford, Grindleton), Knowlmere, Waddington, Easington, Bashall Eaves, Mitton, Withgill (Crook), Leagram, Hammerton and Dunnow (Battersby).

Since 1974 Grindleton has been a civil parish in the Ribble Valley and County of Lancashire.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

  • Clitheroe


Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Grindleton Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Yorkshire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry Church of England (Early)-West Riding ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry Church of England (Late)-West Riding ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]