Greenwood County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Greenwood County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
|Greenwood County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
|Founded||March 2, 1897|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Greenwood County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Quick Facts
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African Americans
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church History and Records
- 6.6 Court Records
- 6.7 DNA
- 6.8 Genealogy
- 6.9 Land and Property
- 6.10 Local Histories
- 6.11 Maps
- 6.12 Military
- 6.13 Newspapers
- 6.14 Obituary
- 6.15 Periodicals
- 6.16 Probate
- 6.17 Taxation
- 6.18 Vital Records
- 7 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 8 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 9 Websites
- 10 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Greenwood County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Greenwood County Courthouse
528 Monument Street
Greenwood, SC 29646
Greenwood County Clerk of Court
528 Monument St., Room 114
Greenwood, SC 29646
Court and land records
Greenwood County Probate Court
528 Monument St., Room 205
Greewood, SC 29646
Probate and marriage records
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
The county is named after Greenwood Plantation.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Greenwood County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Barratt House - also called Chinaquin Ridge
- Chinaquin Ridge - also called Barratt House
- J. Wesley Brooks House - also called Scotch Cross
- Jew's Land
- Murrays Hard Labor - also called White Hall
- Scotch Cross - also called J. Wesley Brooks House
- Stony Point
- White Hall - also called Murrays Hard Labor
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- There are more than 25 burial grounds in the county. To view a list, see Greenwood County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census[edit | edit source]
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Greenwood County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
- Siloam - records (1799-1853) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
DNA[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
- Watson, Margaret J., Harry Legare Watson, and Louise M. Watson. Greenwood County Sketches: Old Roads and Early Families. Greenwood, S.C.: Attic Press, 1982. FHL 975.733 D2w 1982; digital version at World Vital Records ($).
- Greenwood County, SC Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Greenwood County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Dorn - Wood, Willie Mae G. Old Families of McCormick County, South Carolina and Dorn Families of Edgefield, Greenwood and McCormick Counties. 2 vols. 1982. FHL 975.736 D2w v. 1
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Greenwood County:
|1868-1873||Abbeville County Records Lost *|
|1800-1865||Abbeville District Records Lost *|
|1769-1800||Abbeville County (old) Records Lost *|
|1710-1719||Proprietary Land Grants|
*Abbeville deeds burned in 1873 while in storage
** Records of Pendleton/Anderson County should also be checked
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Bowen, Anne Herd. Greenwood County: a History (Greenwood, South Carolina: The Museum, 1992, c1992, Kingsport, Tennessee: Arcata Graphics) , 400 pages. Concerns the very earliest people, institutions, and events. Book found at FHL Book 975.733 H2b ▲ WorldCat 27166213
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
General[edit | edit source]
- "Coronacco State Guards, 1833," Genealogical Roots and Branches, Winter 2001, Volume 22, Issue 4. Old Ninety-Six Chapter, SCGS: Greenwood, SC.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- "Battle of Ninety Six note," SAR Magazine, Winter 2001, Volume 95, Issue 3. National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution: Louisville, KY. FHL Book 973 B2sa
- "Veterans list, (sel.)," Genealogical Roots and Branches, Winter 2001, Volume 22, Issue 4. Old Ninety-Six Chapter, SCGS: Greenwood, SC.
- "War in back country," Periodical: Journal of America's Military Past, Fall 1996, Volume 23, Issue 3. Council on America's Military Past : Ft. Myer, VA.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Greenwood County did not exist during the Civil War. Present day Greenwood County was created 2 March 1897 from Abbeville and Edgefield Counties. During the Civil War, men from the area of Greenwood County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Abbeville and Edgefield counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.
- Eaton, Lafayette Claud. Butler Guards: Company B, 2nd South Carolina Infantry Regiment, Confederate States army (Vallejo, Calif.: L.C. Eaton, 1996?), 151 pages. Civil War pages. Includes index. Includes the final roll call of the original Butler Guards present at the surrender at Greensboro.The Butler Guards were originally a South Carolina state militia that became the core of Company B of the 2nd South Carolina Infantry Regiment. They later became a part of the United Confederate Veterans. Book found at FHL Book 975.727 M2e
- Cook, H. T. The Hard Labor Section. (S.l. : W.C. Kirkland?, 1993). 90  pages. The Hard Labor area includes Greenwood & McCormick counties. Includes lists of militiamen and confederate soldiers. Book at FHL 975.73 D2c and Other Libraries.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Greenwood County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Greenwood Daily Journal (Greenwood, S.C.) 1911-1919.
- News and Views (Greenwood, S.C.) 1903-1906.
- The Baptist Press (Greenwoood, S.C.) 1905-1907.
- The Evening Index (Greenwood, S.C.) 1918-1919.
- The Greenwood Herald (Greenwood, S.C.) 1938-19??.
- The Greenwood Index (Greenwood, S.C.) 1897-1???.
- The Greenwood Index (Greenwood, S.C.) 1897-1918.
- The Greenwood Journal (Greenwood, S.C.) 1894-1911.
- The Greenwood Light (Greenwood, S.C.) 1885-1886.
- The Greenwood Plain Dealer (Greenwood, S.C.) 1939-1949.
- The Greenwood Times (Greenwood, S.C.) 1889-1890.
- The Greenwood Tribune (Greenwood, S.C.) 1885-1890.
- The Greenwood Tribune (Greenwood, S.C.) 1934-19??.
- The Index-Journal (Greenwood, S.C.) 1919-current.
- The Mill Visitor (Greenwood, S.C.) 1916-19??.
- The News Scimiter (Greenwood, S.C.) 1911-1913.
- The Ninety-Six Guardian (Ninety-Six, S.C.) 1877-1879.
- The Ninety-Six Herald (Ninety-Six, S.C.) 1876-187?.
- The Ninety Six Star and County Review (Ninety Six, S.C.) 1981-1985.
- The Observer (Ware Shoals, S.C.) 1981-current.
- The Saluda Argus (Greenwood, S.C.) 1881-1884.
- The South Carolina Baptist (Greenwood, S.C.) 1897-1905.
- The Star and County Review (Ninety Six, S.C.) 1985-current.
- Index-Journal (Greenwood, S.C.) Online edition.
Obituary[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- Genealogical Roots and Branches
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
South Carolina Genealogical Records: Volume 1, Abbeville County and parts of Greewood and McCormick Counties by Elizabeth Wood Thomas. Tuscaloosa, Alabama: Willo Publishing Co., C1964. FHL Book 975.73 P2t Includes will book l (1787-1809), will book II (1815-1839) and index to equity records, 1791-1906.
Online Probate Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Greenwood County.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Greenwood County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Greenwood County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1777-1852 - Abbeville District, South Carolina Marriages, 1777-1852 by S. Emmett Lucas, Jr.  FHL Collection ▲ WorldCat/editions WorldCat 5800325 WorldCat - index
- 1846-1860 - Marriage and Death Notices from the Abbeville Banner, 1846-1860 bu E. Don Herd, Jr; Ann B. Herd  FHL Collection ▲ WorldCat 6867370 - index
- 1911-1950 - Greenwood County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950  FHL Collection - index and records
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Greenwood County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1846-1860 - Marriage and Death Notices from the Abbeville Banner, 1846-1860 bu E. Don Herd, Jr; Ann B. Herd  FHL Collection ▲ WorldCat 6867370 - index
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Greenwood County Library
106 N. Main St.
Greenwood, SC 29646
Hours: Sunday 2:00 p.m. to 5:30 p. m., Monday to Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Thursday to Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Genealogy/Local History Link
Ninety Six Branch Library
118 Cambridge St. South
Ninety Six, SC 29666
Hours: Monday 9am-7:30pm, Tuesday-Friday 9am-5:30pm
Ware Shoals Community Library
54 South Greenwood Ave.
Ware Shoals, SC 29692
Hours: Monday 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Tuesday 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., Wednesday-Friday 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) is a collaborative effort that includes South Carolina’s schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Collaborating groups are encouraged to create, maintain, and promote digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources. A number of Greenwood County items are in the collection. To see images from Greenwood County, Click Here.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Greenwood South Carolina Family History Center - A wealth of resources are available for persons researching ancestors in Greenwood County. Contact the family history center to learn what documentation is avialable and where to access genealogical records.
Wed 1pm-8pm (Closed every third Wednesday of the month)
Sun 8am-9:30am and 1:30pm-4pm
A family history consultation is provided for each patron to identify useful resources and helpful training. Also, the center is run by volunteer staff and is subject to closures. Please make an appointment by calling (864) 337-7931 or contact via e-mail: SC_Greenwood@ldsmail.net.
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]
Old 96 Chapter SCGS
P.O. Box 3468
Greenwood SC 29648-3468
Old 96 Chapter covers Greenwood, Abbeville and part of Edgefield and McCormick Counties.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Greenwood County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Greenwood County, SCGenWeb
- Greenwood County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greenwood County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- Lucas, Jr., S. Emmett, Abbeville District, South Carolina Marriages, 1777-1852, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
- Herd, Jr., E. Don, Marriage and Death Notices from the Abbeville Banner, 1846-1860, (S.l.: s.n.), c1980.
- South Carolina, Probate Court (Greenwood County), Greenwood County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003.
- Herd, Jr., E. Don, Marriage and Death Notices from the Abbeville Banner, 1846-1860, [S.l.: s.n.], c1980.