Greenwich St Alfege, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Greenwich St Alfege

Guide to Greenwich, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Greenwich St Alfege, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greenwich Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Greenwich
Registration District Greenwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615; Separate registers exist for Greenwich Royal Naval Asylum beginning 1822 and for Greenwich Royal Hospital School beginning 1705
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718; Separate records exist for Greenwich Royal Naval Asylum beginning 1807 and for Greenwich Royal Hospital School beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History

GREENWICH, a town, a parish, and a district, in Kent. The town is suburban to London, within the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan police and the Central Criminal court; is...opposite the Isle of Dogs...5 miles southeast by east of London Bridge.[1]

Greenwich St Alfege Greenwich High Road is an Ancient Parish in North West Kent. The chapel of ease St Mary in King William Walk was part of ths parish. The chapel of ease was built in 1823 and closed in 1919 (demolished 1936) It kept no separate register.

The church dates from 1711 and was the first of the "Fifty new churches" to be built from the 1711 Act [New Churches in London and Westminster Act 1710 (9 Anne c. 17)] and was designed by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

The church has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British Listed Building

See also Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 1 (1797), pp. 372-420 at British History Online

From this parish was created East Greenwich Christ Church, Kent and Greenwich St Paul Devonshire Drive which was built 1865-1866 and formed an ecclesiastical parish in 1864 declared redundant 1984 and is now a Seventh Day Adventist church, from St Paul was formed the ecclesiastical parish of St Peter Bridge Street in 1867, the church being built in 1866, and sustained bomb damage 1941; the parish merged with this parish in 1951 and the church was demolished 1955. 

Here is A Comprehensive List of Greenwich Chapels and District Churches. These chapels and churches are all attached to and come under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of St Alfege Parish.


For a map of the Greenwich parishes fromed from this parish visit Greenwich North West Kent Family History Society and the relevant linked pages for parishes.

Westcombe Park St George, Kirkside Road, dates from 1892 Westcombe Park St George

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Greenwich St Alfege parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Greenwich St Alfege Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax

Images for Greenwich are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Greenwich Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870)
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk