Greensted-juxta-Ongar, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Greenstead, Essex Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Greensted-juxta-Ongar


Guide to Greensted-juxta-Ongar, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Greensted-juxta-Ongar, Essex
Greensted St Andrew Ongar Essex.jpg
Greensted St Andrew Ongar Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ongar
County Essex
Poor Law Union Ongar
Registration District Ongar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1630; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ongar
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

GREENSTEAD, or Greenstead-Ongar (St. Andrew), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Ongar, and S. division of Essex, it is 1¼ miles (W. by S.) from Ongar.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Greensted-juxta-Ongar, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
Greensted-juxta-Ongar, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1562-1964 1576-1835, 1913-1956 1680-1966
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
PALL 1790-1812
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Ongar Poor Law Union, Essex

No parish records are known to survive except the registers. A few figures of poor relief are available from Parliamentary returns but these are probably not very reliable. In 1776 expenditure on poor relief was £11. For the three years 1783-5 the average annual expenditure was £29. By 1800-1 the annual expenditure had risen to £150, but in 1802-3 it was only £74.  Figures of expenditure on poor relief alone are missing for the years 1803-11; the poor rates, which also include administrative expenses and county rates, rose from £91 in 1803-4 to £255 in 1810-11.  The cost of relief rose from £174 in 1811-12 to £486 in 1819-20. The cost for 1820-1 was, however, only £144.
There was a parish poorhouse by 1776. In 1841 there were 'almshouses' belonging to the parish, situated at Greenstead Green, opposite Greenstead House. ( These had probably been provided by the parish for the accommodation of its poor: there is no evidence that they were a privately endowed charity. They had disappeared by 1873-4.
In 1836 Greenstead became part of Ongar Poor Law Union. [5]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Greensted-justa-Ongar on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  5. From: 'Greenstead: Poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 62. British History Date accessed: 05 February 2011.