Greenland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Greenland ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Greenland Wiki Topics
Flag of Greenland.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Greenland Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Greenland is an island autonomous country within the Danish Realm in the Atlantic Ocean whose nearest neighbors are Canada and Iceland. The official language is Greenlandic (Kalaallisut).[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Greenland Research

Links to articles on getting started with Greenland research.

Greenland Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Greenland research.

Greenland Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Greenland.
Greenland-municipalities-2009.png

Municipalities[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Greenland. Municipalities:

  • Kujalleq
  • Qaasuitsup
  • Qeqqata
  • Sermersooq

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

Ethnic Groups[edit | edit source]

Online Resources[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, “Greenland,” in ‘’Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,’’ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenland, accessed 29 April 2016.