Greene County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Greene County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Greene County

Guide to Greene County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Springfield
Organized: January 2, 1833
Parent County(s): Crawford[1]
Neighboring Counties
Christian  • Dade  • Dallas  • Lawrence  • Polk  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriGreeneCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Greene County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Nathanael Greene. The County has Springfield as its seat and the County was created January 2, 1833. The County is located in the southwestern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Greene County Courthouse
940 Boonville Avenue
Springfield, MO 65802
Phone: 417-868-4068
Greene County Website

County Archives and Recorder has probate, court, tax and land records from 1833, military discharge records, divorce records 1837-1950, birth and death records 1883-1890 and 1876 local census records.[3]

Greene County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1833 1883 1833 1833 1833 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

1861 Fire destroyed the Courthouse on October 28, 1861.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1833 Greene County was created 2 January 1833 from Crawford County.
  • County seat: Springfield[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Greene County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Greene County, Missouri published Greene County Archives Bulletins from at least 1988 to 1995. These bulletins included guides and indexes to several types of records for the county, including divorce records, Circuit Court records, naturalization records, coroner's record books, stray records, Alms House records, etc. A listing of the contents of these bulletins is available online. Most of the specific titles are included in the descriptions of the records under the appropriate record type below.

Many of the early records of Greene County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Greene County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
Immaculate Conception, Springfield

  • 1872-1876 Immaculate Conception, Springfield, Baptism Index 1872-1876. Batch C511781 at FamilySearch.[6]

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Springfield

Court Records

When Greene County was formed in 1833, a Circuit Court was established and has continued to the present day. Historically there were at least four other courts in Greene County.[7] See Greene County, Missouri Court Records for a more complete description of these courts and their records.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Greene County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • A Brief History of the First Baptist Church of Springfield, Missouri, 1852-1927. By M. M. Richardson. [1927?]. Springfield, Mo. : Elkins-Swyers Co. Available online at FamilySearch
  • History of Greene County, Missouri. 1883. Available online at Google Books
  • Past and Present of Greene County, Missouri. By Jonathan Fairbanks and Clyde Edwin Tuck. 1915. Indianapolis, Indiana : A.W. Bowen & Co. Vol. 1 available online at FamilySearch. Vol. 2 available online at FamilySearch.
  • Personal Reminiscences and Fragments of the Early History of Springfield and Greene County, Missouri. By Martin J. Hubble. 1914. Springfield, Missouri : Inland Printing Co. Available online at Family Search.
  • Pictorial and Genealogical Record of Greene County, Missouri. Greene County Archives and Records Center (Springfield, Missouri). 1893. Chicago : Goodspeed Brothers Pub. Available online at FamilySearch.

Maps and Gazetteers

Wright CountyStone CountyChristian CountyWebster CountyOzark CountyTaney CountyNewton CountyMcDonald CountyBarry CountyGreene CountyDouglas CountyLawrence CountyJasper CountyVernon CountyPolk CountyBarton CountyLaclede CountyDallas CountyCedar CountyDade CountyMOGreene.JPG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Greene County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greene County, Missouri:

- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Phineas M Savery's Attached Company
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company H
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company G
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company H
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company C
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company H
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), 6th Provisional Regiment Detachment
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War Battles were fought in Greene County:

  • Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Poorhouse
Greene County had a poor farm that was a support for ill or indigent people of the county. It was initially called the County Poor Farm, then the County Home, and in 1955 became Sunshine Acres. It was closed in 1978. Registers of those who were cared for by this facility have been indexed for the years 1875 to 1955. The index is available online in two parts:

An Index to the Register of the Alms House, 1875-1923
An Index to the Register of the Alms House, 1916-1955

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

A Guide to the Records of the Probate Court of Greene County is available online as published in the County Archives Bulletins. These records, including wills, inventories, settlements, and other probate documents, are part of the records of the Circuit Court and its divisions. Many have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Tax lists have been abstracted for 1833-1835, 1843, 1851, 1856, and 1890. These can be found at the Local History & Genealogy department at The Library Center (Springfield-Greene County Library).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

The vital records kept by the courts and other offices in Greene County include documents relating to marriages, divorces, and deaths. See Greene County, Missouri Vital Records for a more complete description of these records and their indexes.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Greene, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/11/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greene County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
  7. Guide to the Courts of Greene County, Missouri available online.
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)