Greenbrier County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Greenbrier County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Greenbrier County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||October 20, 1777|
|Address|| Greenbrier County Courthouse|
200 North Court Street
P O Box 506
Lewisburg, WV 24901-0506
Greenbrier County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church
- 5.5 Court
- 5.6 Genealogy
- 5.7 Land and Property
- 5.8 Local Histories
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Migration
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Naturalization
- 5.13 Newspapers
- 5.14 Occupations
- 5.15 Probate
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Greenbrier County, West Virginia Record Dates
- County Clerk has birth and death from 1853
- Marriage from 1781
- Probate and Land from 1780
- and Court Records
- A History of Greenbrier County Greenbrier Historical Society, c1986.
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810.
Places / Localities
African American Research
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- Random Acts WV Cemetery Records Research Guide
For tips on accessing Greenbrier County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
- Greenbrier County Heads of Families - 1783-1786 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 109.
1790 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1800 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1820 Greenbrier County, Virginia Census Index
1830 Greenbrier County, Virginia Census Index
1840 Greenbrier County, Virginia Census Index
1850 Greenbrier County, Virginia CensusIndex
1820-1850 - Exist, available online and in print:
Shuck, Larry G. The Federal Censuses for Greenbrier County, Virginia, 1820, 1830, 1840 and 1850. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1990. Available at FHL.
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
Greenbrier County fell within the bounds of the Greenbrier Association.
Church of England
- Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 K2bjo.
Greenbrier County, West Virginia Churches
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- Greenbrier County Heritage Book Committee. Greenbrier County, West Virginia, Family Heritage, 1997. n.p.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1996. FHL Book 975.488 H2gr.
- Alexander - Clemens, William M. Alexander Family Records. New York: William M. Clemens, 1914. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- Armstrong - Boss, Lula Reed. "Revolutionary Soldiers Buried in Mason County, Kentucky," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 9, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):153-156.
- Arthur - Arthur Family Genealogy of Bedford, Greenbrier & Cabell counties, Va., W. Va. and Jackson Co., Ohio. Microfilmed 1992: FHL Film 1697667 Item 44.
- Braun - West, Klaus and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813, From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL Book 975.5 K2bjo.
- Burnside - Clark, Bertha Lewis and Margaret Byrnside Ballard. Burnside Family of Scotland and America, Augusta, Rockingham, Greenbrier, Pocahontas, Virginia and West Virginia, and Other Sections. Typescript, 1960. FHL Film 1017645 Item 10.
- Burnside - Clark, Bertha Lewis and Margaret Byrnside Ballard. Burnside Family of the Upper Greenbrier. Typescript, 1960. FHL Film 1017645 Item 11.
- Caldwell - Caldwell, Arthur B. "Kinkead Caldwell 1769-1828 Early Missouri Settler," The Southwest Virginian, Vol. 3, No. 18 (Dec. 1980):40-48. FHL Book 975.57 D25s v. 3 (1980).
- Campbell - "Memorial to William S. H. Baylor," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1964):33. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Cary - Harrison, Fairfax. The Virginia Carys. New York: De Vinne Press, 1919. Digital version at Internet Archive - free; FHL Film 1011836 Item 3.
- Childers - Childers Family Bible: of William Benton Childers Born 1866, d. 1954; Gallia & Franklin counties of Ohio and Greenbrier County Viarginia [i.e. Virginia] (now WV); Also Includes Rickabaugh, Lewis, 1754-1989. FHL CD-ROM no. 1295.
- Dilley - Jones, Thomas W. "Dilley of Northern Virginia and Ohio: A Proposed Solution Hanging on a Single Word," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, No. 3 (Jul. 2004):220-227.
- Eagle - Eagle, Lawrence H. Eagles of the Virginias and Their Pioneering Descendants in Dakota Territory: History and Genealogy. Sioux Falls, S.D.: L.H. Eagle, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 Ea35e.
- Eagle - Eagle, Lawrence H. The Greenbrier Branch: History and Genealogy of the Timothy Eagle--David Patterson Families and Collateral Lines. Sioux Falls, N.D.: L.H. Eagle, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 Ea35e supp. 1
- Gillian - Williams, Elizabeth Pierce. Pierce/Gillilan Families: Some Descendants of John Pers of Watertown, Massachusetts, Who Had Emigrated from Norwich, Norfolk County, England and of Nathan Gillian of Greenbriar County, Virginia. Los Angeles, Calif.: E.P. Williams, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 P611wp.
- Henderson - Miller, Joseph Lyon. Ancestry and Descendants of Lieut. John Henderson of Greenbrier County, Virginia, 1650-1900. Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1902. FHL Film 1036365 Item 1; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
- Henderson - Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Heraldica: Being a Registry of Virginia Gentry Entitled to Coat Armor, With Genealogical Notes of the Families. New York: The Genealogical Association, 1908. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- Holtzopple - Holsopple (Holtzopple)-LeFevre Genealogy. MSS. Microfilmed 1992: FHL Film 1697698 Item 4.
- Kelly - Kelly, Kathryn, "Abraham Kelly from Virginia to Ohio," The Appalachian Quarterly, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Sep. 1996):70-71. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5743 D25a v. 1, no. 2 (Sep. 1996).
- Kincaid - Johnson, Ollie Tepton. Genealogy of the Kincaid Family of Greenbrier County, West Virginia: Descendants of Samuel Kincaid. Typescript. Microfilmed 2005: FHL Film 1783413 Item 7.
- Lewis - Johnson, Patricia Givens. General Andrew Lewis of Roanoke and Greenbrier. Christianburg, Va.: Givens, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 L585j.
- McClung - McClung, William. The McClung Genealogy: A Genealogical and Biographical Record of the McClung Family from the Time of Their Emigration to the Year 1904. Pittsburgh, Pa.: McClung Printing Company, 1904. FHL Film 908768 Item 1; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
- McClung - Donnelly, Shirley. "Family History of Tyree Clan Traced," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jan. 1964):3-7. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- McClung - McClung, Rheba Irrene. The Greenbrier McClung Way. Parkersburg, W. Va.: Easton Printing Co., 1990. FHL Book 929.273 M132mi.
- McClung - McClung, Judith A. The McClung Family Association: Greenbrier Section, as Posted at RootsWeb Freepages, 2004. Based on The McClung Genealogy (1904). FHL Fiche 6008573.
- Morgan - Hayden, Richard A. "Resolving the Inexplicable: The Marriage Bond of Archibald Young and Lettice Morgan," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 95, No. 1 (March 2007):5-16. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 95 (2007)
- Morrison - Morrison, Warren Dale. A Branch of the Andrew Morrison Family of Greenbrier County, (W) Virginia. Granbury, Texas: W.D. Morrison, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 M834mwar.
- Porter - Barnett, Bobby D. Descendants of Mitchell Porter: Revolutionary War Soldier. [South Pasadena, Fla.]: B.D. Barnett, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 P834bb
- Rayburn - Machir, Violette S. Some Chapman, Jolly, Rayburn and Smith Families in W.Va. & Ohio. Middleport, Ohio: Quality Print Shop, 1966. FHL Fiche 6017211.
- Renick - Renick, E.I. "The Renick Family of Virginia," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul. 1899): 221-227. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.
- Robertson - Roberson, Rhonda S. "Genealogical Sketches of Revolutionary War Soldiers: William Robertson," The Southwest Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1978):55-78. FHL Book 975.57 D25s v. 1 (1978).
- Robertson - Robertson, Rhonda. William Robertson of England and His Descendants: (A Partial Genealogy). n.p.: Rhonda Robertson, 1978. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 R545rr.
- Tyree - Donnelly, Shirley. "Family History of Tyree Clan Traced," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jan. 1964):3-7. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Ward - Boss, Lula Reed. "Captain Charles Ward of Mason County, Kentucky," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1972):11-13.
Land and Property
- Hudgins. 415 patents dated 1774-1858 in what is now Greenbrier County, West Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
West Virginia Archives and History Agricultural Extension Division.
History of Renick Community, Greenbrier County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, n.d. (On-line version) Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: R4. Cole, Joseph R. History of Greenbrier County. Lewisburg, West Virginia, 1917.
975.488 C689 closed stacks. Comstock, Jim. Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia. Richwood, West Virginia, Jim Comstock, 1973. 975.4003 H259 1973 V.6. Conte, Robert S. The History of the Greenbrier: America's Resort. Charleston, West Virginia, Pictorial Histories Publishing Company, 1989. 917.5488 C761. Crayon, Mark. Life in the Irish Corner District During the Civil War, Greenbrier County, West Virginia. Charleston, West Virginia, John Young Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution. 1926.
975.488 M138. Dayton, Ruth (Woods). Greenbrier Pioneers and Their Homes. Charleston, West Virginia, West Virginia Publishing Company, 1942. 975.488 D276. Deitz, J. Dennis. The Greenbrier Ghost and Other Strange Stories. South Charleston, West Virginia, Mountain Memories Books, 1990. 398.25 D325. _____________. Mountain Memories, II, III. South Charleston, West Virginia, Jalamap Publishing, 1984.
975.4 Deitz. ____________. Mountain Memories, IV. South Charleston, West Virginia, Mountain Memories Books, 1985.
975.4 Dietz. Dempsey, William. Papers Greenbrier and Fayette Counties, 1859-1883. MS 79-154. Donnelley, Clarence Shirley. David S. Creigh, the Greenbrier Martyr, A Tragedy of the Civil War. Oak Hill, West Virignia, Royal Oak Press, 1950. B C914d Pam. Fasick, Ralph N. A Brief History of Rupert, West Virginia. E.J. Crichton, n.d.
975.488 F248 closed stacks. Fry, Rose W. Recollections of the Rev. John McElhenny. Richmond, Virginia, Whittet & Shepperson Printers, 1893.
B M141f. The Greenbrier. General Robert E. Lee at White Sulphur Springs, 1867-1869. White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, The Greenbrier Resort, 1932. B L479gr Pam. Greenbrier County Bicentennial Committee. Greenbrier County Bicentennial , 1778- 1978. Lewisburg, West Virginia, Bicentennial Committee, 1978. 975.488 G795. Greenbrier County Virginia High School. Announcement of the Alleghany High School at the Blue Sulphur Springs for the Session 1859-1860 Greenbrier, Virginia. Richmond, Virginia, Dispatch Steam Power Presses, 1859. 370.975 G82 Pam. Greenbrier Historical Society Journal, volume 1- 1963-. Greenbrier Historical Society, Lewisburg, West Virginia.
Per Historical Booklet, Greenbrier County, 160th Anniversary, 1788-1938. Charleston, West Virginia, 1938.
975.488 H673. Hogsett, Paul Crawford. Items of Interest Concerning Greenbrier County, West Virginia, Including Memorandum of Colonel John Stuart, Clerk of Court. n.p., 1935. 975.488 H716 Pam. Humphreys, Blanche. History of Organ Cave Community, Greenbrier County West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1928. (On-line version) Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: H83. Humphreys, Milton Wylie. Anthomy, the White Man's Friend. Fayetteville, West Virginia, Fayette Tribune, 1927.
970.1 H927 Pam. Ledger, Shanklin and James Alexander. Greenbrier and Monroe Counties, 1799- 1814. MS 79-44. McPherson, Joel. Joel McPherson Papers, 1860. MS 80-130. Meadow River Festival. History of Meadow River Lumber Company and Rainelle Area. Rainelle, West Virginia, Meadow River Festival, 1970. 975.488 M482. Olcott, William. The Greenbrier Heritage. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Arndt, Preston, Chapin, :Lamb & Keen, 1967. 975.489 O43. Ott, Edwin. The Mountains Speak in Picture and Story, Narration: M. Thomas Clemons. Fairlea, West Virginia, Fairlea Print Shop, 1969. 917.5488 O89. Peck, Frank U. History of Brushy Ridge Community. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1924. (On-line version) Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: P4 Rice, Otis K. A History of Greenbrier County. Lewisburg, West Virginia, Greenbrier Historical Society, 1986.
975.488 R497. Specific Goshen. Greenbrier Ghost, 1897-1979. Charmco, West Virginia, Specific Goshen, 1979.
364.152 G798 Pam. Stone, William Dale. Greenbrier County: Our Heritage. Charmco, West Virginia, Specific Goshen, 1977.
975.488 S881. Warren, Rose Harlow. Memories of Christmas Holidays at "Old Castle". n.p., n.d. 394.26 W25 Pam. Woods, C. West Virginia Was Good. Charleston, West Virginia, Mountain State Press, 1984.
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
- Maps of Greenbrier County, West Virginia
- Map of Greenbrier County, W. Va., 1887
- Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1976):199-208. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Greenbrier County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 126-127.]
French and Indian War
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Greenbrier County veterans; see place name index.]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Greenbrier County on page 134.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Greenbrier County men served in the 79th Regiment.
Regiments. Service men in Greenbrier County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greenbrier County, West Virginia Genealogy:
- - 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company L (White's Company of Cavalry).
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A (White's Mounted Riflemen), Company D (Jenkins Guards), and Company K (Greenbrier Swifts or Greenbrier Cavalry No. 2).
- - 26th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Edgar's) (Confederate). Company B and Company E.
- - 27th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) . Company F (Greenbrier Sharp Shooters).
- - 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Greenbrier Mtn. Rifles) and Company F (Bruce Rifles).
- - 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.
- - 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies B2 (White Sulphur Rifles) and C2 (Red Sulphur Yankee Hunters).
- - 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Companies B (The Greenbrier Mountain Rifles) and E (The Bruce Rifles).
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Greenbrier County in the Military
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Lewisburg silversmiths.]
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
- West Virginia Will Books
- Probate records, 1853-1969 Original records in the Greenbrier County Courthouse, Lewisburg, West Virginia.
- 1780s - 1815 Shuck, Larry G. Greenbrier County (West) Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists: 1782/3, 1786/8, 1792, 1796, 1799, 1805 & 1815. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1990. Available at FHL.
- 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Greenbrier County is included in Vol. 1.
- 1788 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1976):199-208. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Greenbrier County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 126-127.]
- 1791 Indexed images of the 1791 Personal Property Tax List of Greenbrier County, Virginia (now West Virginia) are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
- 1803 Images of the 1803 Personal Property Tax List of Greenbrier County, Virginia (now West Virginia) are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
- 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971.
- Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Greenbrier County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.
- 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Greenbrier County is included in Vol. 5.
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.
. Includes marriages 1781-1914, 1918-1969 - free.
- Greenbrier County, West Virginia births and marriages
- Greenbrier Co., West Virginia birth, marriage, death records, wills, church records, etc., 1780-1899
- Shuck, Larry G. Greenbrier County Birth Records, 1853-1899: In Two Volumes; Extracted from County Birth Registers. 2 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1995. Available at FHL.
- Shuck, Larry G. Greenbrier County Death Records, 1853-1901. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1993. Available at FHL.
Societies and Libraries
Son of the American Revolution Society 132
North Court Street
Lewisburg, West Virginia 24901
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- White Sulphur Springs West Virginia Family History Center
- Greenbrier County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Greenbrier County, West Virginia Microfilms at the Library of Virginia
- Greenbrier Research's Home Pages
- Greenbrier County, West Virginia Biographies
Learning How toEdit our Wiki Sites
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greenbrier County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 421. Digital version at Google Books.
- William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 33-34. Digitized by Internet Archive.
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 96. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
- Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- Terry Lowry, 26th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 81.
- Lowell Reidenbaugh, 27th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 90.
- Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
- J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.