Great and Little Snarehill, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Great and Litter Snarhill, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great and Little Snarehill, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Thetford|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
SNARESHILL-HOUSE, an extra-parochial district, in the hundred of Guilt-Cross, W. division of Norfolk, 1¾ mile (S.) from Thetford. 
Great and Little Snarehill is an extra parochial place. it is necessary to search neighbouring parishes. England Jurisdictions 1851 has the capability to search contiguous parishes Barnham, Suffolk Euston, Suffolk Kilverstone, Norfolk Rushford, Norfolk Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk Thetford St Mary the Less, Suffolk
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Thetford 1837-1935
- with Brettenham 1935-1938
- Wayland 1939-1974
An extra parochial place.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Snarehill on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 126-129 Date accessed: 18 March 2013.