Great Western Docks, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Great Western Docks


Guide to Great Western Docks, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Western Docks, Devon
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plymouth Borough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plymouth Incorporation
Registration District Plymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

The Great Western Docks at Millbay, Plymouth, were opened informally in February 1857 and during the remainder of that century prospered, largely as a result of their connection to the South Devon and Great Western Railways. St. Andrew's parish extends to include the Mill Bay area.[1]

The parish history of GREAT WESTERN DOCKS is found under DEVONPORT, a celebrated naval arsenal, and a borough, in the parish of Stoke-Damerall, or Stoke, S. division of the hundred of Roborough, S. division of Devon, 1½ mile (W.) from Plymouth, containing, with Morice-Town and Stoke, and, including the parish of East Stonehouse. In the reign of William III. a naval arsenal was established here, under the name of Plymouth Dock, and to this event the town is indebted for its importance and present magnitude. The dockyard, one of the finest in the world; its water boundary forms a curve bending outwards in a western direction. The inhabitants have free access likewise to the dockyard chapel. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Great Western Docks parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Devon, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Devon Bishop's Transcripts, 1558-1887 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Devon Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Devon Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Great Western Docks Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS BTs 1558-1887
1558-1887
1558-1887
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1923
1507-2002
1537-1988
FMP Banns

1629-1918


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Devon Archives and Local Studies.


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Encyclopaedia of Plymouth History
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55. Date accessed 5 July 2013
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk