Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Chesterton|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
SHELFORD, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Thriplow, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles (S. by E.) from Cambridge. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Parish registers for Great Shelford, 1557-1876 at FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Great Shelford, 1599-1869 have been digitised.
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Great Shelford on GENUKI