Great Sandall, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Great Sandall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SANDALL, GREAT (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Wakefield, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Crigglestone, Sandall, Walton, and part of West Bretton; and containing 3482 inhabitants, of whom 1273 are in the township of Sandall, 2 miles(S. by E.) from Wakefield. There was a district with a chapel called Chapel-Thorpe, which is in the parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
references[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 11-15. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013