Great Plumstead, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Great Plumstead, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Plumstead, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Blofield|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PLUMSTEAD, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Blofield, E. division of Norfolk, 4½ miles (E.) from Norwich. 
Great Plumstead St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.
The church lost the original tower which was replaced with a brick one. It then had a catastrophic fire in 1891 which destroyed much of the church except the tower and the church was rebuilt.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Blofield 1837-1938
- Norwich Outer 1939-1974
Church records[edit | edit source]
Great Plumstead, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Great Plumstead, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||Undefined||1558-1890||Undefined||1558-1807, 1813-1903||Undefined||1558-1891|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
- 1698-1699 Image 228
- 1705-1706 Image 627
- 1708-1709 Image 1010
- 1715-1716 Image 1443
- 1895 Image 34
- 1895 Image 35
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 123
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
1891 Census Surnames Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archive
Land Records [edit | edit source]
1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archive
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Bradestone, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Great Plumstead on GenUKI
- Parish Info
- Church in the Plumsteads
- Blofield Deanery
- British Listed Buildings
- Norfolk Churches
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 578-586Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Great Plumstead', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.