Great Oakley, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Great Oakley, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Great Oakley


Guide to Great Oakley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Oakley, Essex
All Saints' Great Oakley, Essex .jpg
All Saints' Great Oakley, Essex .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1715; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harwich
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Great Oakley or Oakley (Great), is a village and a parish in Tendring district, Essex. The village stands 2 1/2 miles W of Ramseycreeck, 4 miles SE of Wrabness railway station, and 5 3/4 miles SW of Harwich. There are chapels for Weleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Baptisms 1854-1879

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Great Oakley on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.