To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Great Moulton, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Great Moulton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Moulton, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Depwade
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Depwade
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MOULTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Long Stratton. The parishes of Great and Little Moulton were formerly distinct, but on the demolition of the church of the latter (All Saints) in 1570, they were united. [1]

Great Moulton St Michael or Moulton St Michael is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Depwade

Church records[edit | edit source]

Great Moulton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = England, Norfolk Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1510-1997 (FamilySearch) - free
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC Transcripts = Norfolk, England, Transcripts of Church of England Baptism, Marriage and Burial Registers, 1600-1935 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 1 = Norfolk, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Norfolk, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Norfolk Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Norfolk Bishop's Transcripts Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Norfolk Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Great Moulton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1685-1941
1685-1941
1685-1941
FS PRs 1510-1997
1510-1997
1510-1997
FS ATs
1600-1812
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC Transcripts 1600-1935
1600-1935
1600-1935
ANC 1 1535-1812
1535-1812
1535-1812
ANC 2 1813-1915
1754-1940
1813-1990
FMP 1538-1917
1538-1933
1534-1992
FMP BTs 1579-1913
1583-1925
1583-1935
TGEN 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the [https://www.archives.norfolk.gov.uk/ Norfolk Record Office

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]

Depwade Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Non-Conformist Chapel[edit | edit source]

Great Moulton Congregational. The "tin church" is now preserved at the East Anglian Museum of Rural Life in Stowmarket Suffolk.

The building was manufactured by Boulton and Paul of Norwich in the 1890's and served for a century as a meeting place until the Congregational Church built new premises.

Norwich Surrey Chapel Undenominational
Sub-Chapels
Norfolk Record Office Reference FC 76/87
Great Moulton Chapel, Church Meeting minutes
Date 1898-1940
Description Exterior photograph, balance sheets, and papers re sale of chapel, 1970-1971, inserted.
This Undenominational Congregation was formed as a result of the secession from the Church of England in 1845 of Robert Govett (1813-1901), previously curate of St Stephen's parish, Norwich. The immediate cause was Govett's views on infant baptism. Surrey Chapel was built in 1854 to house the congregation. It was financed and managed principally by Govett himself and in consequence it is not until after his death in 1901 that a Committee was formed and the series of Church Meeting and other minutes begins, though Govett's printed pastoral letters commence as early as 1847 (nos. 59-60 in list). Small mission churches were established at Stoke Holy Cross, Bramerton, Great Moulton, Swardeston, Saxlingham Nethergate, Marlingford and elsewhere

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Depwade      http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Depwade/Depwade.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 353-356. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51162 Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Norfolk) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk