To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Great Marlow, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Great Marlow, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Desborough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Wycombe
Registration District Wycombe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592; Separate registers exist for Lane End beginning 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Lane End beginning 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wycombe
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Marlow (or Great Marlow), market town and a parish, Bucks, on river Thames, 5 miles NW. of Maidenhead and 32½ miles W. of London.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Great Marlow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Great Marlow Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1601-1840
1601-1837
1601-1840
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1592-1619
1592-1839
1592-1619
IGI 1592-1611, 1619-1630, 1714-1719
1731-1735, 1731-1756, 1736-1740
1754-1758, 1763-1767, 1767-1769
1770-1773, 1774-1837, 1774-1777
1780-1783, 1784-1788

1592-1611


FS Catalog PRs
1592-1611
1592-1611
1592-1611
FS Catalog BTs
1601-1840
1601-1840
1601-1840

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Great Marlow on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887 Date accessed and adapted 11 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk