Great Lakes Indian Agency (Wisconsin)
United States American Indians Iowa Michigan Minnesota Wisconsin Indians of Iowa Indians of Michigan Indians of Minnesota Indians of Wisconsin Great Lakes Indian Agency (Wisconsin) Guide to Great Lakes Indian Agency (Wisconsin) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
Chippewa, Potawatomi; after 1949, Winnebago in Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Iowa, Stockbridge and Oneida in Wisconsin, Ottawa and Potawatomi in Michigan, and the Saginaw, Swan Creek and Black River Bands of Chippewa in Michigan.
The Great Lakes Agency was established in 1936 as the successor to the Lac du Flambeau Agency, serving various bands of Chippewa and Potawatomi Indians in Wisconsin and Michigan. In 1949, it absorbed the Tomah Agency and was renamed the Great Lakes Consolidated Agency. In 1952, it was made an area field office of the Minneapolis Area Office, but was returned to agency status in 1956.
Agents and Appointment Dates
Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value (for the tribe and tribal members) were created by and maintained by the agencies.
Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1936 thru 1940. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 170-171. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 576859-576860). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.
Vital Records with Census FHL film 576,859 and 576,860
Some records of the Great Lakes Agency are in the Great Lakes Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Chicago. A brief inventory of those records is available online under the title of Great Lakes Indian Agency, WI and under Great Lakes Consolidated Indian Agency, WI on the National Archives web site.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, pp. 161-162.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy 595, p. 51
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
- "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.