Great Gonerby, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Great Gonerby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Gonerby, Lincolnshire|
St+Sebastian Great+Gonerby Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Grantham|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Great Gonerby St Sebastian is an Ancient parish which included Middle Gonerby within the parish. Gonerby Moor is also included with the former Great North Road (A1) passing through part of the parish.
The parish is to the north of Grantham and is now effectively a suburb of the town.
GONERBY, GREAT (St. Sebastian), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 1½ mile (N. N. W.) from Grantham. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing effforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Great Gonerby Par 1 will identify available images.
Search FamilySearch Catalogue Gonerby, Great
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 312-315. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.