Great Eccleston, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Great Eccleston)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Great Eccleston, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prescot
Registration District Garstang
Records begin
Parish registers: 1729
Bishop's Transcripts: 1771
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Guide to Great Eccleston, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chapelry History

GREAT ECCLESTON, or Copp Chapell, is a township in the parish of St. Michael upon Wyre, union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 7 miles southwest of Garstang. The ecclesiastical district of Eccleston includes also Little Eccleston, Larbrick, and Elswick. The church, dedicated to St. Ann, stands on Copp Hill; it was built in 1723. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

COPP is a chapelry in-Michael-on-Wyre and Kirk. It is adjacent to the Preston and Lancashire railway, 3 miles SSE of Garstang. It was constituted in 1849; and its post-town is Garstang. Pop., 1,140. Houses, 247. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £190.* Patron, the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre.
Great Eccleston is a township and Copp is a chapelry in Great Eccleston; these two places share the same records.

Here is an excellent old publication about this chapel and parish history, entitled The History of the Parish of St. Michaels-on-Wyre in the County of Lancaster, that is available on Google Books for free.

Churches in the parish

  • St Mary, Hall Lane, Great Eccleston (Roman Catholic) - founded 1771
  • Chapel Street Wesleyan Methodist - founded before 1847 now closed and developed as private housing
  • Baptist Church, High Street - founded 1870 closed Twentieth Century site now developed as residential accommodation
  • Hall Lane Methodist Church - built 1970


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records


Church of England

Great Eccleston chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of St Michael on Wyre to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


COPP (or GREAT ECCLESTON) ST ANN Chapelry (1728) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1782, 1813-1874 None 1871-1875
LOPC 1728-1812 1737 None
LBMD None 1850-1993 None
ST MICHAEL ON WYRE PARISH (1659) Indexes (ancient parish containing GREAT ECCLESTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1662-1844 1662-1741; 1754-1901  None
LOPC 1662-1947 1662-1900 1662-1948 
FMP  None 1662-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-2006 None
AC 1659-1707 1659-1707 1659-1707


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Great Eccleston and comprising the whole ancient parish of St Michael on Wyre to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ST MICHAEL ON WYRE PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 139-144. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 March 2012.