Great Easton, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Great Easton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Easton, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Uppingham
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1656; For more records see Bringhurst
Bishop's Transcripts: 1572
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

EASTON (Great), or Easton Magna, a township-chapelry in Bringhurst parish, Leicester; and a sub-district in the district of Uppingham and counties of Leicester and Northampton. There are chapels for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Great Easton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Great Easton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1656-1891
1656-1891
1656-1891


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.