To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Great Bookham, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Great Bookham, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Bookham, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Effingham
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Epsom
Registration District Epsom
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1694
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BOOKHAM, GREAT (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Epsom, hundred of Effingham, W. division of Surrey, 2½ miles (W. S. W.) from Leatherhead.[1]

Great Bookham, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Great Bookham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Surrey Parish Registers, 1536-1992 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Surrey Baptisms and Marriages (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Surrey, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Surrey, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Great Bookham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1536-1992
1536-1992
1536-1992
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1918
1538-1841


ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1933
1813-1987
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1536-1865
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Surrey History Centre.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[3]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.