Great Ayton, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Great Ayton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Ayton, Yorkshire
Great Ayton Christ Church Yorkshire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Stokesley
Registration District Stokesley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1666
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Great Ayton is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Great Ayton with Langbaurgh, Langbaurgh, Tunstall, Little Ayton with Tunstall, and Little Ayton.

The ancient church of All Saints was replaced by the District Church of Christ Church which was built by architects Ross & Lamb, John Ross being an old boy of the Friends School and opened in 1877.

Great Ayton All Saints Yorkshire.jpg
AYTON, GREAT (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Stokesley, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York; in the township of Great Ayton, 3 miles (N. E. by E.) from Stokesley. This parish, which is on the road from Stokesley to Guisborough, consists of the townships of Great Ayton, Little Ayton, and Nunthorpe. There is a second church at Nunthorpe, forming a separate incumbency. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Society of Friends have places of worship.[1]

AYTON, two townships and a parish in Stokesley district, N. R. Yorkshire. The townships are distinguished from each other as Great and Little. Great Ayton lies on the river Leven, and on the Guisbrough railway, 3 miles NE of Stokesley; includes the hamlet of Langbaurgh; and under Northallerton.  Little Ayton lies contiguous on the E, also on the river Leven; and includes the hamlet of Tunstall.. The parish contains likewise the township of Nunthorpe.  There are chapels for Independents, Methodists, and Quakers [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

'The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Great Ayton Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-North Riding
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Marriage Bonds and Allegations-North Riding
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
FamilySearch Marriage Bonds and Allegations (Allertonshire)-North Riding
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-North Riding ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-North Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Find My Past Marriage Licences-North Riding ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Church of England Marriage Bonds-North Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Stokesley Poor Law Union, Yorkshire Genealogy

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 120-124. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 12 March 2013.