Great Ayton, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Great Ayton, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
North Riding of Yorkshire
Great Ayton

Guide to Great Ayton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Ayton, Yorkshire
Great Ayton Christ Church Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Stokesley
Registration District Stokesley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1666
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

Great Ayton is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Great Ayton with Langbaurgh, Langbaurgh, Tunstall, Little Ayton with Tunstall, and Little Ayton.

The ancient church of All Saints was replaced by the District Church of Christ Church which was built by architects Ross & Lamb, John Ross being an old boy of the Friends School and opened in 1877.

Great Ayton All Saints Yorkshire.jpg
AYTON, GREAT (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Stokesley, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York; in the township of Great Ayton, 3 miles (N. E. by E.) from Stokesley. This parish, which is on the road from Stokesley to Guisborough, consists of the townships of Great Ayton, Little Ayton, and Nunthorpe. There is a second church at Nunthorpe, forming a separate incumbency. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Society of Friends have places of worship.[1] 

AYTON, two townships and a parish in Stokesley district, N. R. Yorkshire. The townships are distinguished from each other as Great and Little. Great Ayton lies on the river Leven, and on the Guisbrough railway, 3 miles NE of Stokesley; includes the hamlet of Langbaurgh; and under Northallerton.  Little Ayton lies contiguous on the E, also on the river Leven; and includes the hamlet of Tunstall.. The parish contains likewise the township of Nunthorpe.  There are chapels for Independents, Methodists, and Quakers [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Great Ayton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Great Ayton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Stokesley Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 120-124. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 12 March 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk