Grayson County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Grayson County

Guide to Grayson County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Leitchfield
Organized: January 25, 1810
Parent County(s): Hardin, Ohio[1]
Neighboring Counties
Breckinridge  • Butler  • Edmonson  • Hardin  • Hart  • Ohio
See County Maps
Courthouse
Grayson County, Kentucky Courthouse.PNG
Location Map
Grayson County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Grayson County Courthouse
10 Public Square
Leitchfield, KY 42754
Phone: 270-259-5295
Grayson County Website[2]

Grayson County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1852 1852 1896 1856 1810
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Record Loss

1864, 1896--Disasters destroyed some records.

Boundary Changes

  • 1810--Grayson County was created 25 January 1810 from Hardin and Ohio Counties.
  • County seat: Leitchfield[3]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Grayson County, Kentucky:

  • Anneta
  • Big Clifty
  • Black Rock
  • Broad Ford
  • Caneyville
  • Clarkson
  • Concord
  • Conoloway
  • Do Stop
  • Duff
  • Dug Hill
  • Eveleigh
  • Falling Branch
  • Fentress McMahan
  • Fragrant
  • Grayson Springs
  • Hanging Rock
  • Hickory Corner
  • Higdon
  • Hilltop
  • Hites Falls
  • Horntown
  • Huffman
  • Iberia
  • Indian Valley
  • Johnson Crossroads
  • Jugville
  • Lacon
  • Leitchfield
  • Lilac
  • Linwood
  • Linwood Park
  • Lone Oak
  • Meredith
  • Millerstown
  • Millwood
  • Moutardier
  • Pearman
  • Peonia
  • Peth
  • Pine Knob
  • Pine Springs
  • Ponderosa
  • Post
  • Ready
  • Rock Creek
  • Royal
  • Sadler
  • Saint Paul
  • Short Creek
  • Shrewsbury
  • Skaggstown
  • Smithview
  • Snap
  • South
  • Spike
  • Spring Lick
  • Steff
  • Tar Hill
  • Tousey
  • Wax
  • West Clifty
  • Wheelers Mill
  • Windyville
  • Yeaman

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Grayson, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Grayson county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18204,055
18303,880−4.3%
18404,46115.0%
18506,83753.3%
18607,98216.7%
187011,58045.1%
188015,78436.3%
189018,68818.4%
190019,8786.4%
191019,9580.4%
192019,927−0.2%
193017,055−14.4%
194017,5623.0%
195017,063−2.8%
196015,834−7.2%
197016,4453.9%
198020,85426.8%
199021,0500.9%
200024,05314.3%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21085.txt

For tips on accessing Grayson County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grayson County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Kygrayson.png

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Grayson County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 40th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies C, D, E, G, H, I and K.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grayson County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Grayson County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Grayson County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Grayson County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Grayson County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Grayson_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3239393"