To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gray's Inn, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gray's Inn, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gray's Inn, Middlesex
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Inns of Court and Chancery
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Holborn
Registration District Holborn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'Gray's Inn Chapel was established in 1695. It was an extra-parochial place exempt from jurisdiction.

'Gray's Inn, is on the north side of Holborn, opposite Middle Row, and on the west side of Gray's Inn Lane. Gray's Inn derives its name from having been formerly the residence of the ancient and noble family of Gray of Wilton, who, in the reign of Edward III, demised it to several students of law. It occupies the site of the mansion of the ancient manor of Portpool, one of the prebends belonging to St Paul's Cathedral, which, in 1515, becoming residence of the before-mentioned family, it received from it the name of Gray's Inn. It reverted, however, to the monks till the dissolution of the religious houses, when it was granted by henry VIII, in 1541, to the students and their successors. The principal entrance to Gray's Inn is from Holborn, and it consists of several spacious courts, a large square, opening into Gray's Inn lane, some airy gardens wherein was the favourite summer house of Sir Francis Bacon, and two very handsome rows of new buildings northward. It is one of the four inns of court, and is inhabited by barristers, solicitors and students of law, and by gentlemen of either professions and of indiependence, for the sake of studious retirement.'[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Gray's Inn parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Gray's Inn Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831).
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk