Graves County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Graves County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Graves County

Guide to Graves County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mayfield
Organized: 1823
Parent County(s): Hickman[1]
Neighboring Counties
Ballard  • Calloway  • Carlisle  • Henry (TN)  • Hickman  • Marshall  • McCracken  • Weakley (TN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Graves County Courthouse, Mayfield, KY
Location Map
Graves County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for Benjamin F. Graves. The County has Mayfield as its seat and the County was created 1824. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Graves County Courthouse
201 E College Street
Mayfield, KY 42066
Phone: 270-247-1733
Graves County Website[3]

Graves County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1888 1852 1888 1888 1888 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

1864, 1887, 1896--Courthouse disasters destroyed some records.
1897--Courthouse burned to the ground but all records survived.

Boundary Changes

  • 1823--Graves County was created in 1823 from Hickman County.
  • County seat: Mayfield[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • KY Biographies
  • All of the family biographies from the 1885 History of Graves County, Kentucky by Battle, Perrin, and Kniffin are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Graves, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Graves county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 2,504
1840 7,465 198.1%
1850 11,397 52.7%
1860 16,233 42.4%
1870 19,398 19.5%
1880 24,138 24.4%
1890 28,534 18.2%
1900 33,204 16.4%
1910 33,539 1.0%
1920 32,483 −3.1%
1930 30,778 −5.2%
1940 31,763 3.2%
1950 31,364 −1.3%
1960 30,021 −4.3%
1970 30,939 3.1%
1980 34,049 10.1%
1990 33,550 −1.5%
2000 37,028 10.4%
2010 37,121 0.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Graves County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Sassin] Allen, Cameron. "Francois Sasin/Sassin of Manakin Town: The First Six Generations of the Sassin/Sasseen Family in America," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1993):3-17; Vol. 37, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1993):99-116; Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1993):193-205; Vol. 37, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1993):259-271. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Graves County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Ballard CountyMcCracken CountyMarshall CountyCalloway CountyCarlisle CountyHickman CountyHenry CountyWeakley CountyObion CountyFulton CountyKY GRAVES.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

  • Abstracts of Pension Papers Pertaining to Soldiers of the Revolutionary War, War of 1812 and Indian Wars Who Settled in Grant [and Graves] County, Kentucky. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Military Resources, Revolutionary War through Civil War

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Graves County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 12th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company H

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Graves County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Graves County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Graves County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Graves County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Graves County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Graves County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graves_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Graves County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Graves County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graves_County,_Kentucky, accessed 12 August 2018.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Graves_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3453566"