Grant Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Grant Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Grant Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 4, 1869|
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biographies
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Ulysses S. Grant. The County has Colfax as its seat and the County was created 1869. The County is located in the north central area of the state.
Grant Parish, Louisiana Record Dates
Grant Parish Courthouse
Colfax, LA 71417
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, land, probate, military and court records from 1878.
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1880s Some possible record loss at the courthouse.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in the Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle.
Places / Localities
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- Grant County Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to Grant Prish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on Grant Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
|Grant Parish Census Data|
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Grant Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Grant Parish Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local histories are available for Grant Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Grant Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883 - [http://genealogytrails.com/lou/grant/1883_PENSIONERS_GRANT_PARISH.html Grant Parish Pensioners on the Rolls
as of January 1, 1883] (Genealogy Trails)
World War I
- 1917-1920 - Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1917 - Grant's Honor Roll of Drafted Men Entraining for Camp Pike, Ark., Sept. 20, 1917 (Genealogy Trails)
- Grant Parish World War I Civilian Draft Registrations (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Korean War Casualties, Grant Parish, LA (USGenWeb Archives)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Grant Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Grant Parish Obituary Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Grant Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Online Probate Records
- 1756 – 1984 Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry.com Ancestry.com — index and images $
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
- 1865 U. S. Direct Tax, Grant Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- Grant Parish Birth Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
- 1837–1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to Grant Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Grant Parish Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Societies and Libraries
Grant Genealogical Society
300 Main St.
Colfax, LA 71417-1830
Central Louisiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 12206
Alexandria, LA 71315-2206
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Grant Parish, LA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Grant Parish, Louisiana, LAGenWeb, part of the USGenWeb Project
- Grant Parish, Louisiana, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Grant Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Grant Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Grant Parish LA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Grant, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 264-278. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant Parish, Louisana page 290, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- United States Census Bureau. "Grant Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/220439.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.