Grant County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Grant County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Grant County

Guide to Grant County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lancaster
Organized: December 8, 1836
Parent County(s): Iowa[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clayton (IA)  • Crawford  • Dubuque (IA)  • Iowa  • Jo Daviess (IL)  • Lafayette  • Richland
See County Maps
Courthouse
Grant County Wisconsin CourtHouse.jpg
Location Map
WI Grant.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for an Indian trader; his first name. The County has Lancaster as its seat and the County was created 1837. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Grant County Courthouse
111 S Jefferson
Lancaster, WI 53813
Phone: 608-723-2675
Grant County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1876, marriage records from 1840 and land records from 1837.
Register in Probate has probate records from 1840.
Clerk of Court has divorce and court records.
Veterans Service Officer has military records.[3]

Grant County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1842 1837 1836 1840

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1836--Grant County was created 8 December 1836 from Iowa County.
  • County seat: Lancaster[4]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Grant County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Grant County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Grant census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
Fennimore and Castle Rock

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Fennimore and Castle Rock, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com.

Plattville

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Plattville, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com.

St. Peter's Lutheran Church, Fennimore

  • Records of St. Peter's Lutheran Church, Fennimore, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Website about the town of Livingston, how the town became to be, its people, biographies, and genealogical information. Livingston-Watson Family website!

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Bureau of Land Management, Wisconsin Land Patents Database (USGenWeb Archives)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI GRANT.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Grant served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Grant:

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies C and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G, H and M
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies C, F and H.
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C, many men from the town of Waterloo, which is part of Jefferson County and Grant County
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Grant Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Grant Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin-Platteville
    Southwest Wisconsin Room-Karrmann Library
    One University Plaza
    Platteville, WI 53818-3099
    Phone: 608-342-1719
    Email: swwis@uwplatt.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Southwest Wisconsin Room-Karrmann Library
    Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin-Platteville
    One University Plaza
    Platteville, WI 53818-3099
    Phone: 608-342-1719
    Email: swwis@uwplatt.edu
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Cassville Historical Society
    PO Box 133
    Cassville, WI 53806
    Phone: 608-725-5891
    Website
  • Grant County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 281
    Dickeyville, WI 53808-0281
    Website
  • Grant County Historical Society
    129 E Maple St
    Lancaster, WI 53813
    Phone: 608-723-6686 or 608-723-4925
    Website
  • Lower Wisconsin River Genealogical & Research Historical Center
    PO Box 202
    Wauzeka, WI 53826-0202
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Grant County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.