Grant County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Grant County

Guide to Grant County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Petersburg
Organized: February 14, 1866
Parent County(s): Hardy[1]
Neighboring Counties
Garrett (MD)  • Hampshire  • Hardy  • Mineral  • Pendleton  • Preston  • Randolph  • Tucker
See County Maps
Courthouse
Grant County Courthouse Petersburg WV.JPG
Location Map
Wv-grant.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Ulysses S. Grant. The County has Petersburg as its seat and the County was created February 14, 1866. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Grant County Courthouse
5 Highland Ave
Petersburg, WV 26351
Phone: 304-257-4550
Grant County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, divorce, probate, court, and land records since 1866.[3]

Grant County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1866 1866 1866 1866 1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1866--Grant County was created 14 February 1866 from Hardy County.
  • County seat: Petersburg[4]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Grant County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Grant census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 4,467
1880 5,542 24.1%
1890 6,802 22.7%
1900 7,275 7.0%
1910 7,838 7.7%
1920 8,993 14.7%
1930 8,441 −6.1%
1940 8,805 4.3%
1950 8,756 −0.6%
1960 8,304 −5.2%
1970 8,607 3.6%
1980 10,210 18.6%
1990 10,428 2.1%
2000 11,299 8.4%
2010 11,937 5.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarely. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."[6]
  • [Hyres] Swisher, Robert Edward. The Hyres of West Virginia. Richmond, Va.: Whittet and Shepperson, 1977. FHL Book 929.273 H999a.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grant County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Grant County

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Online West Virginia Tax site West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Grant County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Grant County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 02 July 2018.
  6. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Grant_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3307247"