Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Grant County
 

Guide to Grant County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Sheridan
Organized: February 4, 1869
Parent County(s): Jefferson, Hot Spring, and Saline[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cleveland  • Dallas  • Hot Spring  • Jefferson  • Pulaski  • Saline
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasGrantCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-grant.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Ulysses S. Grant. The County Seat is Sheridan and was founded February 4, 1869. It is located in the central of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Grant County Courthouse
101 W Center Street #106; PO Box 364
Sheridan, AR 72150
Phone: 870.942.2551
Grant County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1877.[3]

Grant County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1877 1914* 1877 1877 1877 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

  • 1877 - All records through March 13, 1877 were destroyed.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Townships
  • Calvert
  • Darysaw
  • Davis
  • Dekalb
  • Fenter
  • Franklin
  • Madison
  • Merry Green
  • River
  • Simpson
  • Tennessee
  • Washington


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Grant County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

  • 1800s (early) - Cherokee and Choctaw settlers lived for a time in Grant County before being forcibly removed to Indian Territory.
  • 1840s - The inexpensive land attracted settlers; some brought their African-American slaves. They arrived by wagon train, some coming from Alabama.
  • 1857-1858 - One typical early white settler was Richard D. Rhodes, who somehow obtained certificates intended for Choctaw settlement and claimed 320 acres of land in 1857 and another 320 acres in 1858.
  • 1861 - When the Civil War broke out , many men from Grant County joined Arkansas regiments, and a year later, the area had few able-bodied men left.
  • 1869 February 4 - Governor Powell Clayton signed a bill creating Grant County.
  • 1933-1942 - The Civilian Conservation Corps was active in Grant County during the Depression. The men at Camp Sheridan were primarily involved in forestry work. Also active in the county was the National Youth Administration, which built school buildings in Prattsville, Grapevine, Oak Grove, Leola, Poyen, and Sheridan

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Grant, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 3,943
1880 6,185 56.9%
1890 7,786 25.9%
1900 7,671 −1.5%
1910 9,425 22.9%
1920 10,710 13.6%
1930 9,834 −8.2%
1940 10,477 6.5%
1950 9,024 −13.9%
1960 8,294 −8.1%
1970 9,711 17.1%
1980 13,008 34.0%
1990 13,948 7.2%
2000 16,464 18.0%
2010 17,853 8.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1877-1949 Grant County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1877-1949; Administration, executor and guardian settlements 1882-1918; Dockets 1877-1924; Inventories and appraisements 1880-1934; Probate records 1877-1934; Wills 1877-1936.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Saline CountyPulaski CountyLonoke CountyHot Spring CountyDallas CountyCleveland CountyJefferson CountyAR GRANT.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Grant County.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[9] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Grant County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_Arkansas, accessed 14 September 2018.
  7. Bill Lancaster, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=771&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Grant County.”
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  9. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.