Gransherad Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Gransherad, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Gransherad Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
add here |
| Prosti | add here |
| Len 1599-1660 | Bratsberg |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1660-1919: Bratsberg |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Telemark |
| Region | add here |
| Prestegjeld | Gransherred |
| Kommune | add here |
| Skifteretten | add here |
| Tinglag | Gransherred |
| Fogderi | Øvre Telemarken |
| Sorenskriveri | Øvre Telemarken østfjeldske |
| Skipreide | add here |
Contents
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Grandherad clerical district contains the parish registers for the parishes Gransherad and Hovin. Gransherad clerical district was established in 1859 when Gransherad was separated form Hjartdal clerical district and Hovin from Tinn clerical district. See Hjartdal and Tinn clerical districts for earlier records.
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1800-1921.
- Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 12: Øvre Telemark deanery, Nedre Telemark deanery and Bamble deanery Digital Archives
- Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 6: Øvre and Nedre Telemark fogderi and Bamble fogderi Digital Archives
1801 census see Hjartdal.
- 1865: This census is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1875: This census for Gransherad is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1891: The 1891 census for Gransherad is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1900: This census for Gransherad is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It is online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census for Gransherad is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Gransheradsoga: Del I. Samla av O. A. Quamme, gjennomarbeidd og fullført av Kjetil Tjønnås. Utgitt av Notodden Kommune 1977.
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
40 Aasen 9 Aasluten
33 Bakka 40 Baklien 16 Bergan 5 Bjørndalen og Kjøivinglien 39 Bolkesjø nedre 13 Brekke 41 Buene 24 Busnes vestre 8 Bøen nedre 9 Bøen nordre 7 Bøen øvre
2Damstølen
Femjølklien 27 Feten 22 Finnekaasen 32 Folseland nedre 34 Folseraas 8 Frænderud 34 Fuldølmoen
3 Grandaas 31 Gruvloset og Raunedokken
2 Hafsten 9 Hagen 24 Haugetraa 36 Helleberg nordre 37 Hellem 5 Hesledalen 4 Hove
4 Jordet 33 Jordet
17 Kaali 25 Kasin 10 Kirkevolden 17 Kjønnebotn 31 Kopsland
30 Li 29 Lien 42 Lien 41 Lillebuene 26 Lilleland 17 Lislerud 23 Luen 22 Lynnevik
4 Masteholtet 12 Mjelland 11 Mjellelien 29 Moen, Mikkelsgaard, 15 Mosrygg 40 Myrløkja
43 Narverud 29 Nisi
34 Odden 36 Omflukaasen 11 Oterbæk
28 Reisjaa 6 Romme 40 Rua 32 Rugholt 20 Rui vestre 9 Rydningen 30 Rydningen 32 Rydningen 43 Rynjusdalen
6 Seljord 1 Siljudalen 24 Skjesaasen 7 Steinsrud 14 Sætre
21 Tinnoset 30 To 4 Traaer 25 Tufte
19 Venaas nordre 35 Vik
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet
Øvre Telemark østfjelske judicial district
*1668-1866 Family History Library
*1668-1845 Digitalarkivet
Øvre Telemark deanery
*1753-1817 Family History Library
*1707-1747, 1753-1817 Digitalarkivet
Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet
References[edit | edit source]
Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Quamme, O. A.: Tjønnås, Kjetil. Gransheradsoga Del I. Utgitt av Notodden kommune 1977.
