To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Grand Island, Erie County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Grand Island, NY

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Grand Island Memorial Library
1715 Bedell Road
Grand Island, NY 14072
Phone: 716-773-7124
Fax: 716-774-1146

Genealogical Resources: Holdings of the Grand Island Record and the Grand Island Dispatch newspapers.

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Grand Island Historical Society
Beaver Island State Park
P.O. Box 135
Grand Island, NY 14072
Phone: 716-773-2436[1]

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Grand Island, Clerk
Grand Island Town Hall
2255 Baseline Road
Grand Island, NY 14072
Phone: 716-773-9600, ext. 622
Email: clerk@grand-island.ny.us

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Ms. Teddy Linenfelser[2]
Email: TeddyL@Isledegrande.com

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Grand Island, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).
  2. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 404. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places[edit | edit source]