To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gordon County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gordon County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Calhoun
Organized: February 13, 1850
Parent County(s): Bartow, Floyd[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bartow  • Cherokee  • Floyd  • Gilmer  • Murray  • Pickens  • Walker  • Whitfield
See County Maps
Courthouse
Gordon County, Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Gordon County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for William Washington Gordon (1796–1842), the first Georgian to graduate from West Point and first president of the Central of Georgia Railroad. The County is located in the northwestern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Gordon County Courthouse
101 Boston Road
Calhoun, GA 30701-2244
Phone: 706-629-3795
Gordon County Website

Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1864 as well as land records.
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records.[3]

Gordon County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1864 1919 1864 1850 1856 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1888 - The Courthouse in Calhoun was partially destroyed by a tornado on 20 March 1888. On 23 October 1888 a fire spread through several businesses and threatened the temporary courthouse, but citizens carried the endangered records to safety.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1850--Gordon County was created February 13, 1850 from Cass (named changed to Bartow County December 6, 1861) and Floyd Counties.
  • County seat: Calhoun[6]

Multiple small boundary changes from 1852-1877. Involved Cass/Bartow, Floyd, Murray, Pickens, and Walker Counties.[7]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Gordon, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

  • African American historical and genealogical resources available at the Georgia Archives.
  • African American Marriages 1908-1965. Microfilmed images available free online in the Georgia Virtual Vault
  • Marriage Log Gordon County, Georgia: Listed by Brides & Grooms, Includes Colored Marriages. By Patsy Payne Hall and Frances Martin Stubbs. Oak Park, Ill: Glyph Notes, 2002.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Gordon County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Pitts, Lulie. History of Gordon County, Georgia. Calhoun, Ga.: Press of the Calhoun Times, c1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Reeve, Jewell B. Climb the Hills of Gordon: Stories of Gordon County and Calhoun, Georgia. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1979.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Whitfield CountyMurray CountyGilmer CountyPickens CountyCherokee CountyBartow CountyFloyd CountyWalker CountyGA GORDON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Gordon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Gordon County:

- 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 8th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate),
- 18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 40th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies D and E
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
  • Bartow County Genealogical Society (Ga.). 1995. Bartow County, Georgia heritage book. Cartersville, Ga: The Society. (page 12 - 8th Battalion Companies A and B from Bartow, Gordon, and Floyd counties) FHL Collection Other Libraries
  • Bell, Burton J., and Lulie Pitts. 1976. 1976 Bicentennial history of Gordon County, Georgia. Calhoun, Ga: Gordon County Historical Society. (page 114-149) 975.8362 H2b
  • Pitts, Lulie. 1933. History of Gordon County, Georgia. Calhoun, Georgia: Calhoun Times. (page 132-171) 975.836 H2p
  • Georgia. Superior Court (Gordon County). 1966. Confederate roster, 1861-1864. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 424597
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Gordon County). 1966. Confederate pension roll, 1890-1906, 1931-1933. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah film 422603

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Gordon County:


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Calhoun Times - 1,511 issues spanning 1924-2008 freely available via Google News Archive
  • Calhoun Times - 1870 to 1976 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
  • Calhoun Times and Gordon County News - 957 issues spanning 1967-2006 available via Google News Archive
  • Cherokee Phoenix (New Echota) - 1829 to 1834 (prior to county creation) available online as part of Georgia Historic Newspapers
  • The Confederate Flag - 13 November 1861 available at Chicago Historical Society Library, 20 November 1861 available at Emory University
  • Democratic Platform, 8 September 1859 and Georgia Platform, 9 September 1858 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
  • Gordon County Citizen - 1894 to 1895 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
  • Gordon County News - 1940 to 1976 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
  • The Southern Statesman - 5 April 1855 available at the American Antiquarian Society
  • Gordon County Obituaries clippings search from Digital Library of Georgia
  • Bartow Press - 900 issues spanning 1983-2006 freely available via Google News Archive
  • Georgia Pioneer, The Standard, and Cassville Standard - newspapers from Cassville (parent county) covering 1840-1845, and 1852 to 1860 available on microfilm from the Georgia Newspaper Project
  • The Standard (Cassville) - 1852, 1853, 1857, 1858, 1859 extracts available online at Bartow County GenWeb

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Gordon County Historical Society, Inc.
    James Lay, President
    335 South Wall Street
    Calhoun, GA 30701
    Phone: 706-629-1515 or 706-629-2093
    Website
    Meetings are held quarterly on the fourth Thursday at 6:30 p.m. at the Calhoun Depot.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Gordon County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gordon_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gordon County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 33. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. “Historical Atlas of Georgia Counties: Gordon County,” GeorgiaInfo (http://georgiainfo.galileo.usg.edu/histcountymaps/gordonhistmaps.htm : accessed 10 September 2012).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Gordon County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gordon_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 17 Febuary 2019.
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.