Goodworth Clatford, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Goodworth Clatford, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Goodworth Clatford, Hampshire|
|Poor Law Union||Andover|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GOODWORTH, a tithing, in the parish of Goodworth-Clatford, union of Andover, hundred of Wherwell, Andover and N. divisions of the county of Southampton..
CLATFORD-GOODWORTH, or Lower Clatford, a parish in Andover district, Hants; on the Andover railway, 2 miles S of Andover. It includes the tything of Goodworth; and has a post office under Andover, and a railway station..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Goodworth Clatford, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|GOODWORTH CLATFORD PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Sherwood, Antony. The Dowling Line. Family history of the Dowlings of Goodworth Clapford in Hampshire including a Pedigree chart. Article covers years 1539-1797, and is found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XI,no.1 May 1984, pages 58-62, Family History Library Reference 942.27 B2h and a continuation with a further history, and a Pedigree Chart dated from 1539-1694, in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XI,no.3, November,1984 pages 165-167, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 315-319. Date accessed: 13 June 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 13 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 21 January 2021.