Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Glynn County, Georgia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Glynn County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Brunswick
Organized: February 5, 1777
Parent County(s): St. David and St. Patrick Parishes.
[1]
Neighboring Counties
Brantley  • Camden  • McIntosh  • Wayne
See County Maps
Courthouse
Glynn County, Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Glynn County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John Glynn. The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Glynn County Courthouse
701 H Street
Brunswick, GA 31520-6750
Phone: 912-554-7272
Glynn County Website

Probate Court has marriage records from 1845 and probate records from 1792.
Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1792 and land records 1824-1829 (some may have been burned); all records to 1818 damaged.[3]

Glynn County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1818 1919 1792 1824 1792 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1881 -- The records were damaged in a fire at the clerk's house in 1881.[5]
1896 -- On September 29, 1896 a hurricane swept through and badly damaged property in Glynn County, but the courthouse records survived with only minimal water damage.[6]
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1777-- Glynn County was created February 5, 1777 from St. David and St. Patrick Parishes.
  • County seat: Brunswick[7]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Glynn, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 413
1800 1,874 353.8%
1810 3,417 82.3%
1820 3,418 0.0%
1830 4,567 33.6%
1840 5,302 16.1%
1850 4,933 −7.0%
1860 3,889 −21.2%
1870 5,376 38.2%
1880 6,497 20.9%
1890 13,420 106.6%
1900 14,317 6.7%
1910 15,720 9.8%
1920 19,370 23.2%
1930 19,400 0.2%
1940 21,920 13.0%
1950 29,046 32.5%
1960 41,954 44.4%
1970 50,528 20.4%
1980 54,981 8.8%
1990 62,496 13.7%
2000 67,568 8.1%
2010 79,626 17.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

No Glynn County census records exist before 1820, according to Coastal Georgia Genealogy & History (GlynnGen.com).

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Brunswick

Episcopal
Christ Church of Frederica, St. Simons Island

  • 1873-1910 Christ Church of Frederica, St. Simons Island Baptism Index 1873-1910. Batch C712931 at FamilySearch.[10]
  • 1884-1941 Christ Church of Frederica, St. Simons Island Marriage Index 1884-1941. Batch M712931 at FamilySearch.[11]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

African American research page on the Coastal Georgia History & Genealogy (GlynnGen.com) site. Biographies, burial index, cemeteries, census, court, death records, enslavement records, family files, history, links & websites, marriages, name changes, newspapers, plantations and schools.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Cate, Margaret Davis. Our Today's and Yesterdays: A Story of Brunswick and the Coastal Islands. Brunswick, Ga.: Glover Bros., 1930. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Flags of Five Nations: Being a Collection of Historical Sketches, Legends and Stories of the Golden Isles of Guale. Sea Island, Ga.: Cloister Hotel, 1940. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Jekyl [sic] Island Club, Brunswick, Georgia, 1911. New York: Photogravure & Color Co., 1911?. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

McIntosh CountyCamden CountyBrantley CountyWayne CountyGA GLYNN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Glynn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Glynn County:

- 11th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate) , Company H
- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B and K
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
  • Cate, Margaret Davis. 1979. Our Todays and Yesterdays: A Story of Brunswick and the Coastal Islands. Spartanburg, South Carolina: Reprint Company Publishers. (page 167-196; 218-234) 975.8 H2cm


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Brunswick Library Heritage Room
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Jekyll Island Museum
    100 Stable Rd.
    Jekyll Island, GA 31527
    Telephone: (912) 635-4036

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Coastal Georgia Genealogical Society
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Glynn County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glynn_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Glynn County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Coastal Georgia Genealogy & History.
  6. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 32. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Glynn County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glynn_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 17 Febuary 2019.
  9. Thalmann, Georgia Amtrak Station (USA Rail Guide -- Train Web)
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.