Gloucester County, New Brunswick Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
New Brunswick Research Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
New Brunswick
Gloucester County

Guide to Gloucester county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of New Brunswick Gloucester.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



History

Gloucester County was set off from Northumberland County in 1826. It is located in the northeastern corner of New Brunswick.The parishes of Saumarez and Beresford were established in 1814 as parishes in Northumberland County. Bathurst was created from Beresford in 1826. New Bandon and Caraquet were created from Saumarez in 1831; Shippagan from Saumarez in 1851; and Inkerman from Saumarez in 1855. In 1881, Saint Isidore was created from Saumarez and Inkerman. Paquetville was erected from Inkerman and Caraquet in 1897, and Allardville was created from Bathurst in 1946.[1]

Maps and Gazetteers


Populated Places

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Bas-Caraquet         Link   Link 
Bathurst         Link   Link
Belledune         Link   Link
Beresford         Link   Link
Bertrand        Link   Link
Caraquet        Link   Link
Grande-Anse        Link   Link
Inkerman         Link   Link
Lamèque         Link   Link
Maisonnette         Link   Link
Paquetville           Link   Link
Petit Rocher        Link   Link
Petite-Rivière-de-L'ile        Link   Link
Pigeon Hill          Link   Link
Pointe-Sauvage        Link   Link 
Pointe Verte        Link   Link
Pokemouche        Link   Link
Pont-Landry        Link   Link
Robertville        Link   Link
Saint-Isidore         Link   Link
Saint-Raphael-sur-Mer         Link   Link
Sainte-Marie-sur-Mer          Link   Link
Sheila        Link   Link
Shippegan         Link   Link
Stonehaven        Link   Link
Tracadie         Link   Link

Neighboring Counties

Restigouche County * Northumberland County

Civil Registrations

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Rootsweb
Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1783 1783 Studholm Report CensusFinder, index.
1785 Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 Rootsweb
[Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb]
1788 Moncton Township Settlers 1788 Rootsweb
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1804 Scotch Emigrants - 1804 Rootsweb
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Church Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print
List of Cemeteries in the County

Court Records

Wills and Probate

Directories

Immigration Records =

Land Records

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Taxation Records

Repositories


Websites


References

  1. Cloucester County Genealogical Guide, http://archives.gnb.ca/documents/countyguides/gloucester_en-ca.pdf, April 5, 2017.
  2. We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher