Gloucester Cathedral, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Gloucester Cathedral


Guide to Gloucester, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Gloucester Cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of Gloucester and Bristol. It is located in the county of Gloucestershire. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Gloucester Cathedral (Holy Trinity) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[5]
Gloucester Cathedral (Holy Trinity) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1557-1667, 1781-1785 1557-1667, 1781-1785 1557-1667, 1781-1785 1557-1667, 1781-1785 1557-1667, 1781-1785 1557-1667, 1781-1785
AC 1813-1854 1813-1854 1813-1854 1813-1854
DEAN 1558-1754

Gloucester All Saints registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester All Saints Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1597-1640 1597-1640 1597-1640 1597-1640 1597-1640 1597-1640

Gloucester Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester Christ Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1815-1913 1815-1913 1825-1938 1825-1938 1822-1889 1822-1889
DEAN 1825-1835

Gloucester St Barnabas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester St Barnabas Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1907-1913 1907-1913 1908-1938 1908-1938

Gloucester St Bartholomew and St Nicholas registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester St Bartholomew and St Nicholas Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1821-1857 1821-1857

Gloucester St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester St Luke Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1841-1913 1841-1913 1841-1933 1841-1933 1841-1870 1841-1870

Gloucester St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester St Oswald Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1936-1938 1936-1938

Gloucester St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester St Paul Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1872-1913 1872-1913 1878-1938 1878-1938 1830, 1851, 1881-1884, 1927-1947 1830, 1851, 1881-1884, 1927-1947

Gloucester St Stephen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester St Stephen Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1896-1913 1896-1913 1900-1938 1900-1938

Nonconformists

Gloucester Wesleyan Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gloucester Wesleyan Methodist Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1839-1892

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  5. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 18 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'