Gjestal Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gjestal, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Rogaland County
Gjestal

Guide to Gjestal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Gjesdal kyrkje.jpg
Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Time (Lye) and Gjestal in Lye clerical district until 1927. The clerical district was divided in 1927 and became Time clerical district with Time parish, and Gjesdal clerical district with Gjesdal parish. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Lye / Gjestal: 1725-1800, 1816-1826, 1852-1923

Lye / Time, Gjesdal: 1826-1871

Census Records

1664-1666 Census (Manntall)

Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt I Database

  • 1701 Census (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 Time Microfilm

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

  • 1801 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Time Microfilm

The 1801 census (b. 37) for Time (Lye) clerical district includes Time and Time (Lye) parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Lye Database

  • 1865 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Time Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Ly Database

  • 1875 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Time Microfilm

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

1875-teljinga for Gjesdal sokn i Ly prestegjeld Database

  • 1900 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Time Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Time Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

[1] Countdown for the release of the 1910 census database.

Court Records

The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.

Court records at the Family History Library, 1613-1701

These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, , Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1822 the probates are found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
For 1823-1882 they are found in Jæren judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Jæren deanery. `

Availability

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1860 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Jæren judicial district
*1763-1821 Family History Library
*1859-1896 Digitalarkivet.

Jæren deanery
*1763-1821 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1763-1821 Digitalarkivet.

Gjesdal police station
*1886-1972 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book

Arneson, Søren, "Gards- of ættesoga for Gjestal", [Gjestal: Gjestal kommune, 1964. 948.31/G1 D2a 1964 FHL INTL Book

Farm Names

7 Aalgaard, 29 Auestad,

11 Berge, 26 Bjelland, 8 Bollestad, 20 Brekken, 6 Bærland,

2 Eidland,

27 Gjesdal,

25 Halleland, 30 Hareland, 15 Haugemorken, 22 Helland,

28 Kluge, 31 Kringlelien, 34 Kvassaas, 33 Kydland, 31 Kyllingstad,

10 Lima indre, 12 Lomeland,

19 Madland,

4 Nese, 32 Nordaasen, 17 Nævland,

14 Oltedal nedre, 31 Opsal, 23 Orreberg,

16 Ravndal,

1 Sikvaland lille, 3 Skorve, 34 Søiland,

24 Tjetland, 31 Tøgje,

21 Vatne, 8 Vaula, 18 Vølstad,

5 Ædland


Arneson, Søren, "Gards- of ættesoga for Gjestal", [Gjestal: Gjestal kommune, 1964. 948.31/G1 D2a 1964 FHL INTL Book.  Vol II TIME Chronicles 948.31/T1 D29

Auestad 13,

Berge 17, Berland 24, Bjelland 29, Bollestad 36, Brekko 39,

Edland 43, Eidland 58,

Gjestal 68,

Hadland 78, Hareland 82, Haukamork 88, Helland 92,

Kluge 98, Kydland 105, Kyllingstad 111,

Lima 131, Lomeland 149,

Madland 154,

Nese 162, Nevland 166, Nordås 171,

Oftedal 176,

Rage 192, Ravndal 194,

Sikveland 201, Skorve 206, Søyland 212,

Tjetland 219,

Vatne 223, Vølstad 225,

Ålgård 234, Årreberg 242

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names