Gjerpen Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gjerpen, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Gjerpen Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese		 add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present Telemark
Region add here
Prestegjeld Gjerpen
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Gjerpen
Fogderi Bamle
Sorenskriveri Gjerpen
Skipreide add here
v • d • e


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Gjerpen clerical district contains parish registers from Gjerpen parish and Borgestad chapel. Included Solum from 1738 to 1856 and Siljan (Slemdal) from 1847 to 1856. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1681-1931.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Gjerpen clerical district which included Gjerpen parish and Skien parish. It is on microfilm at Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities and covered Gjerpen clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1782: A special 1782 census for Gjerpen exists and used to be available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it a link will be provided here.

  • 1784: A special 1784 census for Bratsbergkleven in Gjerpen clerical district exists and includes the head of household or his widow, children, servants, soldiers, retired persons, age, sex, occupation and some miscellaneous information. These are the people that probably worked in some kind of industrial firm located at the place called Bratsberg kleven (Bradsberg Kleven), and their families. Several of these people were born in other parishes, and seemed to have come to seek employment. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.


  • 1825: A special 1825 census for Strømdal and Løberg school districts in Gjerpen clerical district exists and includes the farm names, head of household, his wife, children, servants, occupations, sex, age and some miscellaneous information. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1835: A special 1835 census for Gjerpen clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Gjerpen and Solum, exists and includes the farm names, head of household, his wife, children, servants, foster children, occupations, sex, age and some miscellaneous information. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1845: The 1845 census for Gjerpen clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Gjerpen and Solum, exists and includes the farm names, head of household, his wife, children, servants, foster children, occupations, sex, age and some miscellaneous information. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Gjerpen is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1910: The 1910 census for Gjerpen clerical district is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Gjerpen Bygdebok The author has worked for years to collect this information. He has decided to put it on the internet for free.

Emigration from Gjerpen to America

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

Farm numbers and names listed in Ryggs Norwegian Farm Names about 1900 are as follows:

75 Aakre 83 Aaltvet 134 Aamot 5 Aarhus 13 Aas 50 Aasen 95 Aasterød 81 Austad

96 Baaserød 103 Bakken 89 Bakkerydningen 65 Ballestad 129 Baugerød 116 Berg 42 Besstul 73 Borge vestre 74 Borgestad 65 Braanen 96 Braaten 63 Bratsberg 61 Brekke 71 Buer 115 Bugot 9 Bukslotten 32 Bustul Skov 79 Bækkevar 123 Bæreberg 10 Bø 22 Bø 67 Bøle

43 Dale Sæter 49 Djupedal 128 Doksrød 16 Dyrkoll

107 Eikaasen 63 Eikonrød 67 Eikonrød 72 Enggrav 48 Eriksrød 106 Espedalen

3 Falkum 44 Fekjan 38 Finvold Skov 139 Fislerød 142 Fjelddal 29 Fjeldstul Skov 100 Fløtterød 15 Folevall 64 Follau 63 Follestad 53 Foss 102 Fossejordet 9 Fossum 62 Frogner

51 Gaashølen 60 Gjerpen lille 124 Glenne 17 Glosmyr 41 Godal Sæter 65 Graaten 133 Gravli 45 Grindeli Skov 57 Grini 139 Grini-Parcellerne 24 Gromstul 109 Grunderød 2 Gulset 130 Gunborgsdalen

33 Haakeli Skov 30 Haakestul Skov 44 Haugedal 68 Haugen 18 Haugerød vestre 140 Haugerød østre 92 Haukeraasen 86 Hesterydningen 55 Hjellen 137 Hobæk 127 Holm 63 Holmen 137 Holmen 20 Holt øde 78 Hongaren 12 Hoppestad 27 Horten Sæterskov 7 Hyni 139 Høgeli 84 Høgset 132 Høimyr 108 Hørta

65 Ilen

89 Jarsengen 52 Jønnevall 26 Jøristul Skov

2 Kaasa 136 Kaasa 63 Kapiteljordet 82 Kapteinrydningen 139 Kausanrød 137 Kikut 63 Kilen 11 Kise 137 Kittilrød 118 Kjær 57 Kjøita 77 Kjølnes 85 Klep 141 Kleven 64 Kolkinn 108 Kolrød 101 Kraaketo 119 Kreppa 66 Kristiansflid 53 Kutterød

91 Laaven 63 Langeland 99 Langerød 57 Langgaard 86 Li 47 Lille Økter Skov 56 Limi 25 Listul 23 Luksefjeld 122 Lund 120 Lundsaasen 131 Lyngaasen 112 Løberg 98 Løkenberg 31 Løvsæter Skov

139 Marker 54 Mauraasen 70 Men 69 Menstad 21 Mo 117 Mustvet 1 Myren 2 Myren 57 Myren 62 Myren 65 Myren 70 Myren 86 Myren 82 Myrene 80 Myrerød 6 Mæla nordre

49 Norge 108 Nygaard 104 Nærum 125 Nøklegaard

115 Oredalen 49 Orekaasa 49 Oterholt

59 Præstegaarden 137 Puttedalen 137 Puttekaasa 65 Putten 133 Putten

87 Ramsaasen 78 Ris 58 Rising 137 Rising-Parcellerne 115 Roligheden 14 Rosvall 114 Rustaden 23 Rydningen 65 Rydningen 78 Rydningen 112 Rydningen 36 Rydningsli Skov 135 Røsaaker

80 Sanden 80 Sanden øde 85 Saubrekken 121 Sem 93 Skifjeld 126 Skjelbrei 63 Skogen 111 Skogsrød 7 Skotland 86 Skottet 110 Skyer 65 Skyerputten 115 Sneltvet 39 Solem 102 Solli 37 Steinled Skov 113 Steinsaasen 112 Steinsrød 40 Stor-Økter Skov 1 Strømdal 94 Stubberød 19 Stulen 88 Stulen 137 Stulen 138 Sukken 28 Svanstul Skov 70 Svarttangen 84 Svinholt 137 Sætret 82 Sølen 113 Sørbø

95 Torbjørnsrød 90 Trolsaasen 139 Trolsaasen 46 Trommeren 54 Tufte 137 Tveiten

2 Vadrættet 93 Vallerdalen 8 Venstøp 97 Vosserødkleven

115 Øde-Sneltvet 7 Ødegaarden 82 Ødegaarden 4 Østens-Mæla 105 Øvrum

Farm names as listed in Christensen's Gjerpen Bygds Historie Bind III Gårdhistorie in 1985 are as follows: Many of these farms have been divided into Nedre, Søndre, Nordre, Midtre, Mellom, Store, Lille, Østre, Vestre, Øvre. They are not indicated in this list.

Askilsåsen, Augestad, Austad, Bakken, Bakkerydningen, Ballestad, Ballestadlia, Ballestadmyren, Baugerød, Bekkelund, Bekkevar, Berberg, Berg, Bergheim, Bestful, Bjønnemyr, Bjønnes, Bjørkeheim, Bjørkelund, Bjørkerud, Borge, Borgehaven, Borgeskoven, Borgestad, Bratsberg, Bratsberghavnen, Bratsberg-ronningen, Bratsberg-rydningen, Bratsbergskogen, Bratstad, Brattås, Bredablikk, Brekke, Brenne, Brånen, Buer, Buermyren, Bugot, Bukslotten, Buslåtten, Bø, Bøle, Båserød, Cudrios Venstøp, Dale, Dale seter, Dalen, Doksrød, Dypedal, Dyrkoll, Ebbes plass, Eikonrød, Eikåsen, Einaren, Ekeli, Ekely, Ekornrød, Elsdyrstykket, Elvbakken, Engelstad, Engrav, Eriksrød, Ersø, Espedalen, Fagerheim, Fagertun, Falkenborg, Falkum, Fekjan, Fislerød, Fjeldstad, Fjelldal, Fjellstad, Flid, Fløtterød, Folevall, Follaug, Follestad, Foss, Fossjord, Fossum, Fredheim, Fredhøy, Fredvang, Fristaten, Frogner, Frognerflaten, Frognermyra, Frognerskogen, Frydenberg, Frydenborg, Furuheim, Furulund, Furuseth, Fædraheim, Gaupåsen, Gjerpen, Gjerpen Prestegård, Glenna, Gløsmyr, Godal seter, Granheim, Gravli, Grini, Grinimyren, Griniparsellene, Grobakken, Gromstul, Grønland, Grønnerød, Grønnerød seter, Grønset, Gråten, Gulset, Gulsetkåsa, Gården, Gåshølen, Hagen, Haraldskås, Hasledalen, Hauen, Haugedal, Haugen, Haugene, Haugerød, Haugerød, Haugsødegården, Haven, Hegna, Hellet, Hestehagen, Hesterønningen, Hjellen, Hjellsmyr, Hjemmejordet, Hobek, Holm, Holmbakken, Holmen, Holt, Hongarden, Hoppestad, Hovland, Huken, Hyni, Høgeli, Høgli, Høgset, Hørta, Høybø, Høymyr, Jarsengen, Jønholt, Jønnevall, Jønnevallåsen, Kapiteljordet, Kapteinrydningen, Kastdalen, Kastet, Katteberget, Kausanrød, Kikut, Kise, Kittilrød, Kittilsrud, Kjernen, Kjær, Kjølnes, Klepp, Kleven, Kløvrød, Kolkinn, Kollen, Kolrød, Kreppa, Kristiansflid, Kroken, Krossvegen, Kråketo, Kudalen, Kulten, Kutterød, Kåsa, Lagmannsgården, Lagård, Landheim, Langeland, Langerød, Langgård, Lensmannsøkter, Leppen, Lia, Liamyren, Lid, Lien, Lillichhaugen, Limi, Lindbu, Lindås, Listul, Luksefjell, Lund, Lundheim, Lundsåsen, Lyngåsen, Lysa, Løberg, Løberghaugen, Løkenberg, Løkke, Løkken, Løvstad, Løvås, Marker, Mauråsen, Meen, Meenslia, Menstad, Midtrum, Midt-Sem, Midt-Venstøp, Minde, Mindås, Mo, Moen, Mustvedt, Mustvedtmyren, Myra, Myraplassen, Myre, Myren, Myrene, Myrerød, Myrheim, Myrlien, Myrplassen, Myrvang, Myrvold, Mæla, Mælåker, Nordbø, Nordgarden, Nordheim, Nordjordet, Nordkjernen, Nordås, Norge, Norheim, Norli, Nygård, Nyhus, Nykås, Nyland, Nystad, Nærum, Nøklegård, Ole Glasers have, Oredalskåsa, Orekåsa, Oterholt, Paulsens Falkum, Petersborg, Petersplassen, Plassen, Plasstykket, Puttekåsa, Puttekåsmyra, Putten, Ramsmyr, Ramsåsen, Riis, Riisrønningen, Ringsjå, Rising, Risingparsellene, Roligheten, Rosvall, Rosvallhagen, Rydningen, Ryggen, Rød, Rønningen, Rønningene, Røsåker, Sandbakken, Sandbrekke, Sanden, Sanni, Sanssouci, Saubrekken, Seljestad, Sem, Seteret, Singhaug, Sivertrydningen, Sivertrønningen, Skarpeland, Skauen, Skifjell, Skilbred, Skog, Skogen, Skogheim, Skoglund, Skogsrød, Skotland, Skotten, Skriua, Skrubbemyr, Skyer, Skyerputten, Slettholdt, Smedjordet, Sneltvedt, Sokka, Solberg, Solheim, Solli, Solstad, Soltun, Solum, Solvang, Spitdalen, Stalsberg, Steinsrød, Steinsåsen, Stormehaven, Storødegården, Stor-Økter skog, Stubberød, Stulen, Stulen, Størmdal, Svarttangen, Svinholt, Sydvang, Sætret, Søgård, Søli, Sølirønningen, Sølland, Sørbø, Sørgarden, Sørheim, Tangen, Tovseplassen, Traet, Trollsås, Trollsåsen, Tuddalsmyren, Tuft, Tufte, Tuftedalen, Tufteløkke, Tufteputten, Tunem, Tunheim, Tveit, Tveiten, Vadrette, Venstøp, Vestly, Vonheim, Vosserødklev, Ødegården, Ødegårdsbakken, Ødesanni, Ødesneltvedt, Økter, Økterplassen, Økterstulen, Ønna, Østens Mæla, Østjordene, Øvregt, Øvrum, Åkre, Åltvedt, Åmot, Århus, Ås, Åsen, Åsland, Åsterød

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Bamble judicial district
*1665-1869 Family History Library
*1665-1852 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Christensen, Terje. Gjerpen Bygds Historie Bind III Gårdhistorie. Skien: Erik Tanghe Nilssen A.S., 1985

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Gjerpen_Parish,_Telemark,_Norway_Genealogy&oldid=4203120"