Giver Parish, Ålborg, Denmark

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Åalborg
Giver

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Giver Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Viborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Skivum-Giver-Blære Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Aalborghus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ålborg
Herred (district) Års
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 62
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 75
Gods (estate) Års herreds provsti; Torstedlund gods; Albæk gods; Hornum Herredsret; Fleskum Herredsret; Års Herredsret; Slet Herredsret; Birketing Løgstør birk


Place Names

Astrup, Astrup Udflyttere,
Bakkegaard, Bavnehøj, Bavneknold, Binderup Høj, Broenge, Bærhøj,
Enghavegaard,
Fladhøje, Fælleshaab,
Gammel Kirkehøj, Giver, Granhøjgaard, Gyldendal,
Hedehus, Hedelund, Hvidkær, Højgaard,
Katby, Katbygaard, Katby Huse, Katby Høj, Kathøj, Kirkehøje,
Mosbæk, Mosbækgaard, Mosegaard,
Nedergaard, Nørdal,
Porsborg, Præstehøj, Pugholmgaard,
Rakkerhøj, Rævebakke,
Skeldal, Skideneng, Sorthøj,
Toftagergaard, Toftagerholm,
Østergaard,
Aagaard, Aagaards Mark, Aasig Høj

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Aalborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Aalborg" and then select your parish.


References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 3d ed. Vol. 4, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.