To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gislinge Parish, Holbæk, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gislinge, Holbæk, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Gislinge is and traditionally has been an annex of Hagested parish. The priest's farmhouse in Hagested burned on 17 May 1670 and on 16 August 1836 the school burned. The first fire appears to have destroyed the parish records of both places, but in the latter fire, Hagested's records survived. Thus Hagested has parish records as early as 1679 but Gislinge only has parish records from 1813 onwards when the kontraministerial records began being kept.

Gislinge Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Hagested-Gislinge (Early-Present)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Holbæk
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Holbæk
Herred (district) Tuse
Kommune (municipality) Gislinge
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 26
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 26
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/34
Gods (estate) Frydendal gods; Vognserup gods; Trudsholm gods; Agersvold gods; Universitetets gods; Gislingegård gods; Hagestedgård gods


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Flinterøgel, Flædekærshuse, Flægkær,

Gislinge, Gislinge, Lb., Gislingegaard, Gislingegaard,

Hgd., Hagesholm, Hyldebo,

Kærhus,

Landkanal, Lille Gislinge, Lundegaard, Lundemarkshuse,

Skarhutbanke

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Holbæk Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Holbæk" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.2, Holbæk Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920