To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Giske Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Giske, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Giske Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Borgrund
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Borgrund
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Nordre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Borgund clerical district.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1801, 1845, 1855, 1865, 1875, 1900 see Borgund



Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Øvrelid, Ragnar,Borgund og Giske, Borgund : Utgjevar: Borgund og Giske Bygdeboknemnd, 1957-1973. A history of Borgund and Giske in Borgund clerical district in Møre og Romsdal county and some genealogy. FHL 948.35 B2 H2b Farm name indexes to volumes 2 - 4 are found in the following links. File:948.35-B2 H2b V2 - BORGUND-Giske.pdf, File:948.35-B2 H2b V3 - Borgund og Giske III.pdf, File:948.35-B2 H2b V4 - Borgund og Giske IV.pdf


Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh farm names index in about 1900 were as follows:


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1791-1852: Probates are found in Nordre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery