Gilmer County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Gilmer County

Guide to Gilmer County West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Gilmer County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Gilmer County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 3, 1845
County Seat Glenville
Courthouse
Gilmer County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Gilmer County Courthouse
10 Howard Street
Glenville, WV 26351
Phone: 304-462-7641
Gilmer County Website



County Information



Gilmer County, West Virginia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1845 1850 1845 1845

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, death and court records from 1853
Marriage, probate and land from 1845[1]

History

Parent County

1845--Gilmer County was created 3 February 1845 from Lewis and Kanawha Counties.
County seat: Glenville[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WVGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WVGenWeb Archives
WVTombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Census

For tips on accessing Gilmer County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.


Join us in indexing the 1940 Census

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Gilmer County

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Gilmer County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Gilmer County, West Virginia Genealogy:


- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies B and E.
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies E and H.[3]
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Gilmer Rifles).[4]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

West Virginia Will Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.

. Includes marriages 1845-1847, 1849-1969 - free.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Gilmer County Historical Society
706 Mineral Road
Glenville, WV 26351

 

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


 Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
 

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gilmer County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  4. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.